It Gets Right on my Wick!

February 23, 2013 at 11:43 am 2 comments

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

Most of my posts are positive. I try to encourage people to think about and help others. I have a very optimistic view on people. Most don’t want to hurt others, they want people to be happy. However, that doesn’t mean that most people (ie, everyone!) irritate others. We all have buttons pressed by the smallest incidents, an inner list of Aggghhhhhhhhhhh! These are (some of) mine:-

  • The rug being askew in the living room – yes, I know, how dull. However, even though the living room can look like the bomb has landed, if the rug is straight then I can live with most of the other mess. This is a long-term irritant. I remember my daughter standing with her hands on her hips, saying in baby-speak to her play-fighting brothers, ‘look at the state of that rug’. She was two. I have no shame about the memory, just wish that her adult self was still saying it.
  • Politicians who say they ‘understand’ how people feel, especially with the ‘I am sympathetic’ head-tilt. I seriously doubt many of them understand ‘the common man’ 99% of the time and their faux-sincerity really gets on my nerves. Note I don’t include all of them, just most.
  • Car-thieves/joyriders – Many years ago my car was stolen and torched in Belfast. I knew nothing about it until the police phoned to let me know. I had a four month old baby and was planning to return to work within a couple of weeks. I had everything organised, someone coming to the house to mind three children, a routine to get me kick-started back into work and thought I was sorted. My job was not a one-bus journey away and having no car was going to add another two hours to the time when I wouldn’t be at home. When you are a working mother your day is divided into slices of time and you have tasks allocated to that time (yeah, I do sound anal don’t I?). The thieves took that time away from me. Also, my car, much as I loved it, was old and worth tuppence-hapenny so I had a lot of expense to get a replacement, at a time when I was playing financial catch-up from maternity leave. Every time I thought about it for the next six months I got very angry in my head. If only they hadn’t torched it then it would have been a ‘loaner’ to get them home after a night out.
  • People who swear at their children in public because you know they do it in private too. I understand everyone has sworn about their children and am sure most of us have sworn at them too, we are only human you know. What gets on my goat is this – ‘You get down here, you little b*****d’ or I will skin you alive’. Have heard this when out shopping. I am not a snob but that is so wrong. Children need rules and discipline, what they don’t need is to be belittled from day one. How can they learn manners and consideration when they see none around them.
  • Another domestic one. Don’t make toast and not wipe the workbench. Same for making tea and leaving those stains. I spend too much time with bleach sprays and bottles in my hand. Actually, not true, I don’t spend enough time but I never claimed to be a domestic goddess.
  • People who get too close. I hate my personal space being invaded. Enough said.
  • ‘I done, I seen’ – there is a new style of grammar out there that is completely alien to me. I was taught grammar at school and I, most of the time, know how to use it. Alas, that doesn’t seem to be the case any more. And my tip of the day – when you are talking about yourself and another person doing something, please use this little tip. If I am going to the shops with Bert and I don’t know whether to say ‘I’ or ‘me’, then remove Bert from the sentence in your head. It isn’t Bert and me are going to the shop, it is Bert and I are going to the shop. Me am going to the shop doesn’t make sense but I am going to the shop does. Honestly, folks, it is that simple.

A very short and random selection from my internal anger buttons. There are many more but I don’t want to foist them all on you at once. Even writing this made my blood start a gentle simmer. You know how to make me feel better, follow the instructions below:)

Cross face

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading,

Lesley

Entry filed under: Charity, Children, Donating, Giving, Life, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , .

First World Problems? One Tin a Month?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bob  |  February 24, 2013 at 9:58 am

    All I can say Lesley is that “I understand” how you feel!! Are you feeling me on this?
    Bob

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,149 other followers

