One Tin a Month?

March 28, 2013 at 11:11 pm 2 comments

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

I have joined a Community Committee in my department at work. You may think it sounds a bit naff but it has good at its core. We did our bake sale for Comic Relief and, with a generous ‘uplift’ from out Management, raised £1,500. And everyone had a great time doing it although I haven’t eaten much sweet stuff since.

We are now looking wider afield and this is where I hope I have had a good idea which I would like to share. I find myself appalled that food-banks are becoming a necessity for many people but am glad that they are there. There have been documentaries covering what they do and how they can help families in need through redundancy, ill-health, poverty. This isn’t just happening in the UK – if you watched the BBC documentary, America’s Poor Kids, you will have seen that the First World has Third World Issues. It baffles me that this can happen but we know it does.

Many may think that people shouldn’t rely on ‘the system’, they should be out looking for work. I agree that those who can work should but life ain’t that simple. There is unemployment, there is poverty, there are parents who don’t eat so that their children can. Yes, there may be parents who spend more on themselves and not enough on their children but that is a small minority, don’t let this colour your thinking.

More cuts are coming, services and jobs will be cut; this problem won’t go away.

So, my idea? It is simple – one tin a month. If you can afford it, why don’t you take one packet or tin, just one non-perishable item to your local food-bank once a month. I have been talking to a local food-bank and am proposing to organise this through my office. I will ask people to bring one tin a month. If 25% of the workforce does this we will have about 400 items a month. That will make a difference. The food-bank I talked to has to spend additional money every week to make enough food parcels. They try to help 300 households every week. If they had an additional 400 packets or tins it would make their work easier.

What do you think? Can you do the same? Will you miss one tin per month from your larder? I will be sending this post out on Twitter and will start a little hashtag – #OneTinAMonth. I am hoping you join my little party and of course you can also donate to a charity and write to me about it:)

Food

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading,

Lesley

Entry filed under: BBC, Charity, Children, Donating, Food, Food Banks, Giving, Life, Poverty, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

It Gets Right on my Wick! I Hope, I Wish, I Dream.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ladymaryan  |  March 29, 2013 at 11:31 am

    Dear Lesley,

    we also have food banks in Germany, but there are no packages being provided, but the foof banks rather have the character of a small shop, where people in need get supplies according to the number of familiy members, their needs and preferences. Also perishable items are available.

    Anyway, thank you for pointing out the risk of getting our thinking coloured. We cannot judge all life circumstances of people and therefore should refrain from sweeping generalisations.

    I couldn’t agree more with you and I will certainly contribute a tin or whatever is there per month and I will think of you each time. :) Thank you for this post!

    Claudia x

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  March 29, 2013 at 4:01 pm

      Claudia,

      Thank you so much! It would make the lives of so many people much easier if all of us who could, did….

      I hope you are well,

      Lesley xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,150 other followers

