Consider this if you will

April 13, 2010 at 6:52 pm 2 comments

I went back to work today after a lovely long weekend so only a quick post from me today. I love my work and between work, family and friends I am kept pretty busy. However, this blog is important to me because I believe that people are kind and generous with their time and money. I did receive a comment that I shouldn’t forget those who volunteer time and I agree – there are so many people out there using their time to help others and I applaud all of them. For my part, I have volunteered my time previously but I wanted to put my time to this for a little while as my hope is to prompt those out there in the world to donate a little money, tell me about it and then tell their friends about my little ‘initiative’.

As you may know from reading this blog I had tried doing this by approaching those in the public eye previously. However, I have taken a new tack and am approaching you all in the world at large. You can hopefully tell that I am not trying to solicit money from you, just the words and your word of mouth. I don’t want to pressure anyone who cannot afford this, I only hope that there are people out there who like my idea and would like to:-

  • Donate one unit of currency to a children’s charity of your choice. This may be a pound, euro, dollar, yen, whatever currency is yours
  • Please write to me and let me know what currency and charity you chose. I will then keep a record of the donations and publish updates on the same so that we can see what successes we may be having
  • If you choose, you may then tell me either how this made you feel and/or what you wanted to be when you were 8. I am interested to hear from anyone out there from anywhere at all as I would love to see if we can have some effect on raising revenues for any children’s charity you like

Okay, I have to sign off now. It is my husband’s birthday and I want to go and make sure that he donates one pound (or a bit more) to a children’s charity and then writes to me. I reckon I ought to be able to nag him a wee bit on his birthday:-)

Take care of yourself out there – Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

Just in case you look at this Blog It is silly to be so excited but….

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  April 16, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    Hi Lesley, I was sent a link to your blog by Stephen Arthur, I think this is a Fantastic idea, I have donated £5.00 to CLIC Sargent. I enjoyed reading your blog. When I was 8 I just wanted to be 8 and get a pair of roller skates for my Birthday… : )

    Take Care and keep “bloging”

    Lynn

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  April 17, 2010 at 8:08 am

      Lynn,

      Thank you so much for your donation and your comment. Stephen is my brother and I will send him a message as well to encourage him to write back after his donation. I will most certainly keep blogging! Lastly, I will be extremely cheeky and ask you to pass this on to your friends.

      Take care,

      Lesley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


