It is silly to be so excited but….

April 17, 2010 at 8:55 am 2 comments

I have had my first message about a donation to charity prompted  by this blog. I am like an 8 year old at this point in time because even though you think you have had a good idea you worry that people will think you are just plain daft. On this point I can confirm that I am indeed plain daft but I am comfortable with it. This old dog isn’t going to learn too many new tricks….

Soooo, please note the implied fanfare of many trumpets and drums – the first donation is from Lynn and she has send 5 pounds to the CLIC Sargent charity. Many thanks to Lynn for the donation and the fact that when she was 8 she just wanted to be 8 and get a pair of roller skates! I really like this comment as it tells to me the truth of what I am trying to do. Children need to be allowed to be children and have roller skates; this is the perfect illustration of the aims of my blog.

Tell me what you think, am I too optimistic about people? I don’t think so, I think we can be kind and generous and I think that if I can get some momentum with this blog then it is worth my efforts (as I sit in my kitchen on a Saturday morning in my dressing gown with a cup of tea). There are other things to do of course, the kitchen is looking at me with a very accusing glare but you know what Katherine Whitehorn said about housework, you do it all only to find that 6 months later it all needs doing again….

I will sign off now with the running total start-up – 5 pounds sterling to CLIC Sargent.

I hope you all  have a lovely Saturday.

Take care, Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

Consider this if you will Soooo, £35 and counting

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Roy  |  April 17, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Just agreeing with my lovely Les’s comments that she is ‘as daft as a wee mare’ – her words not mine!. Commenting on blogs is something I normally do not do on a Saturday morning or at any other time. Tweeting is entirely alien to me as well. But living under the Sword of Damocles if I don’t contribute either a comment or a donation I figured anything for an easier life. So I’m slipping this in quickly as she talks to her mum on the phone.
    What I wanted to be when I was eight was to be somewhere else from where I was at the time. I was a terrible daydreamer while at school.
    Am happy to donate £20 to an autistic charity and send this blog address to friends and colleagues.
    Les’s project is very worthwhile and I hope you all see the simplicity of it and donate to a children’s charity of your choice and send your comments too.
    I hear the vacuum calling my name and the Icelandic volcanic fallout is not to blame.

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  April 17, 2010 at 9:56 am

      Obviously, I have been able to gently persuade my husband to donate to a children’s charity and he has donated £20 to PEAT (Parents’ Education as Autism Therapists), based in Northern Ireland.

      I can also confirm that I think that he would still sometimes prefer to be somewhere else and he is a wee bit older than 8! However, most of the time he wants to be with me and I am happy with that…….

      So, the running total is now £25; £5 to CLIC Sargent and £20 to PEAT.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


