What is the Point of this Blog?

May 9, 2010 at 10:43 pm 2 comments

Hi all,

The point of this blog is very simple. I want to gather stories from you about what you wanted to be when you were 8. I also want to prompt you to think about children who need help, whether through poverty, illness or abuse.

I am lucky, I have 3 beautiful children who have grown to be  kind and I hope, happy. They are all almost grown and I am very proud of them. However, I know in most respects that they have been fortunate and recognise this. I have added a picture of my eldest son Ryan and his lovely partner Jacq to show you what I mean. Rory and Megan have promised me that they will select pictures that I can include for my upcoming posts….

So, now that my children have almost flown the coop I find myself thinking about those children who are not that fortunate. I don’t want to preach to anyone out there, everyone sees the images in the media and doesn’t need me to reinforce that by trying to add guilt onto existing guilt.

I freely admit that I love kids. When they arrive in the world they are perfect, they are without predjuidice and hate. They are joyful, expecting and giving love. What happens next for any child can be a complete lottery. That is why I don’t want to dictate to anyone which children’s charity they should donate to as I feel that this should be your personal choice. It can be a small local charity or one that covers many countries. I am starting to contact charities to ask if they would like a link to their website added to this blog to aid choices if needed.

You may think me idealistic and/or naive in this venture. Personally, I don’t mind if you do. Surely it is better to be idealistic and hopeful about this world and the people in it? You may also think me nosy with my request that you send me you stories about what you wanted to be at 8. That I do happily confirm, people are interesting to me and I want to hear their tales…..

To finish, the easy steps to follow:-

  • Choose your favourite children’s charity and then donate to them directly. I am not after your money, I just want to prompt you to make a donation
  • Come back to this blog and leave me a comment on which charity and why you chose them. I would also love it if you wanted to let me know what you wanted to be when you were 8 and even what you are now.
  • Please let your friends and family know about this blog and see if they want to donate to a charity of their choice and write to me too
  • I will keep totals for all charities donated to and also keep everyone posted on the lovely stories I receive….

I hope that the new look blog is easier for you to navigate and that the comments and totals pages are informative for those who are interested. Thank you for taking the time to read this blog and I do hope that you will donate, write and tell your friends about this site.

Thank you and take care,

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

Revamped! Petit Post!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tim  |  June 12, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Very touched by your ideas, perceptions and attitude.I am in the process of setting up a charity myself: Empowering children (and familes) who have been affected by mental illness and addiction issues of their parents/loved ones. There are nearly 3 million children in the UK who are of school going age whose childhood have been snatched away from them due to this.They often work as full time carers.Because of the stigma of the issues which are atill rife in our society, they have carry on in stoic silence, dignity and harbouring their deep dark secrets. I know, because my daughters suffered through my own affliction.My entire purpose though this project is to devote myself wholely to this cause.It will be great to stay in touch with people like you.

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 12, 2010 at 11:11 am

      Tim,

      A lovely comment, thank you! Please feel free to write to me any time and give me updates on your progress. This blog is to raise awareness and hopefully prompt donations to organisations that will help children, regardless of geography and situation. The situation is so important, there are so many circumstances that can affect children negatively including mental illness and addiction. I applaud you for your efforts and wish you luck.

      Take care of you and your daughters,

      Lesley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


