Good Goes!

May 23, 2010 at 10:27 pm Leave a comment

Hi everyone,

For anyone familiar with my blog you will already know that my aim is to make you think about which children’s charity you would like to support and then to act by donating to that charity. I am hoping that you will then write to me and tell me the charity, amount and what you wanted to be when you were 8.

When I started this project I consciously decided that I wouldn’t dictate to anyone which charity they should select; it should be one that you admire or are linked to. However, I am also very happy to write about charities if requested and I was recently approached by Good Goes via Twitter to write about the Good Goes project. I am thrilled to do so….

Good Goes is a join initiative by Save the Children and the Ad Council. The Good Goes project focuses on the sensible solution – get the good where it needs to go by enabling frontline care workers in places where children are at risk from preventable and cureable diseases. It is scary that almost two thirds of under-5 mortalities could be prevented by simple and low-cost treatments. The block to this is making sure that the treatments and the professionals to administer them are available in deprived and remote areas.

Local Health Workers – It may sound obvious but local health workers are key in fighting child mortality rates. Save the Children train local volunteers in identifying and treating life-threatening illnesses in their community. These volunteers make such a difference and their words are so much better than I could ever do so I have included some extracts from the Good Goes website to let you read for yourself – http://www.goodgoes.org/

This is Felix Aguilar Ramirez from Xachmochan Village in Guatemala, who has been a local health worker since 2007.  Please read some of Felix’s words:

“I farm to support my family, but I serve as a health worker because of my interests in medicine and in promoting the health of the children in my community. From the training provided by Save the Children, I have learned how to identify and treat severe illnesses such as diarrhea and pneumonia – two of the most common killers of children under age 5.

In my experience as a community health worker I’ve encountered a lot of obstacles. The first and most difficult is time: finding ways to visit with patients, collect thorough patient histories, diagnose illnesses, prescribe treatments, and perform follow-up visits – it all takes an extraordinary amount of time. But as a father with three children of my own, it is time that I consider to be not only necessary, but also vital towards keeping the children of my village safe and healthy.”

One of the children that Felix was able to help was Claro.

Signs of fatigue, a high fever, cough, and difficulty breathing led Felix to treat Claro for pneumonia. Did you know that they call pneumonia the ‘forgotten killer’ and it is the leading cause of death for children under 5 in developing countries? I cannot say whether I am more flabbergasted or appalled by that fact.  So, please look at Claro and understand that because of Felix and antibiotic treatment costing $8 Claro survived…..

Child Survival Solutions – a major part of the programme is to train the local healthcare volunteers like Felix but added to this is a suite of simple and sensible care packages like:-

  • Antibiotics
  • Malaria Medicine and Nets
  • Newborn care packages
  • Diarrhea Medicine
  • Vaccinations

My particular favourite is the newborn care package including Kangaroo Care, where mothers are taught to hold their babies next to their skin. This technique helps maintain body temperature and facilitates feeding on demand so that underweight babies can have a better chance of surviving.

We should also always remember how easily diarrhea can take hold in young children in developing countries. Have a look at Diaikaridia and his lovely smile. He is 9 months old and a simple treatment of zinc and oral rehydration solution helped cure his debilitating bouts of vomiting and diarrhea. Diaikaridia is from Malawi and was treated by Salif who has been a local health worker since 2002.

I really don’t think $8 is too much for the life of this child – do you?

I do hope that this small post gives you something to consider and then spurs you on to action. Please don’t forget to write to me when you do act and thank you for reading.

Take care,

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

Speedy Morning Post Petit Blogette

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


