So, where to next?

May 29, 2010 at 5:53 pm 6 comments

So far, I haven’t really put my blog too far out into the websphere. I have sent it to a few friends and they have given me some feedback to improve the blog so I have changed a few style points, etc..

I know that the next step is the biggie and that is to start publicising by more than using Twitter. I do find Twitter such fun as I can be sarcastic and more than a bit mischievous. I have laughed out loud so many times using Twitter as there are many smart and funny people who can use 140 characters to be very, very witty. I envy their talent but they are worth this little pain.

On the flip side, I feel that I have to be slightly more serious using the blog but I hope without appearing too boring or sombre. I suppose time will tell on that front. My next step, therefore, is to use a few ways to get the blog out to more people. If I want people to donate to charity and write to me I need to! There isn’t much point in me talking and writing to myself, is there? I do have a couple of things in the pipeline to promote awareness of this blog and will be actioning over the next few weeks. I also have, as I mentioned in a previous blog, a pretty large donation to write about soon, just getting all the ducks in a row for that one….

And so on to the normal message and the simple steps to follow:-

  • Donate to a children’s charity. Pick one you like, you may be involved in the charity yourself, been assisted by them or admire them. Your reasons are your own…
  • Please come to this blog and tell me about the donation, to whom, how much and the currency by commenting anywhere on the blog. I would also be grateful if you wanted to tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8
  • If you want to, tell others about this blog and ask them to visit.

I will:-

  • Read and publish all (appropriate) comments.
  • Keep a running total of the amounts to each charity
  • I will also add a link to the charity’s website so that any other visitors can see the good work they do.
  • I will also write about the charities as the donations are made to hopefully assist a little with the publicity.

Thank you for reading and take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, Giving, Life, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

Giving is a Pleasure Eeeeek! Four Figures have been reached

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Peter pomerol777  |  June 10, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    I recently donated £50 to Kidsout charity. This covers a day out.

    At 8 I wanted to be an engineer

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 10, 2010 at 11:00 pm

      Peter,

      Thank you so much for taking the blog totals to £1050! I am going to have so much fun updating the totals page this weekend and am delighted that we are seeing yet another great children’s charity being added to the blogroll. http://www.kidsout.org.uk/ focuses on fun for disadvantaged children and fun is what children should have.

      I am also impressed that you had such a serious ambition as an 8 year old and I do hope that your current profession fits in well with your grown-up ambitions.

      Thanks again and take care,

      Lesley

      Reply
  • 3. Tankthetories  |  June 6, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Hello! I donate £15 a month to Plan, an international charity to give girls choices in life other than marriage and child-rearing at a young age. It provides education for girls (where this is otherwise unobtainable) as well as health care such as vaccinations. I sponsor Paraguayan girl called Griselda. The charity website is at http://www.plan-uk.org

    Reply
    • 4. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 6, 2010 at 8:57 pm

      Tank (to use the shortform:-)),

      thank you so much for your comment on the blog and I will take this year’s donations to date as your total to show £60 on the blogtotal if that is okay with you. I will be doing a new post tomorrow and will update the totals and talk about the Plan charity then.

      The only thing I still want to know is what you wanted to be when you were 8? I do hope you come back and let me know….

      Take care,

      Lesley

      Reply
      • 5. Tankthetories  |  June 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm

        I wanted to be a deckhand on a trawler. Like my mum. Seriously. Quite an unusual family. She did it for 8 years.

      • 6. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 6, 2010 at 9:17 pm

        Brilliant, what an ambition. Your mum sounds class, kudos to your mum:-))

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


