A Personal Post from Me….

June 18, 2010 at 6:40 pm Leave a comment

My post today is personal. Those of you who read this blog will know that I am also a fan of Twitter, it is linked on the blogroll. I find Twitter funny, sharp, thought-provoking and annoying in equal measure. Twitter has also brought me into e-contact with people that I wouldn’t normally have met.

One of my new tweet-pals is a woman who lost her childhood through horrendous abuse, physical, sexual and mental. She lives with the scars of that throughout her life. They are mental and physical scars. However, this woman manages to enjoy her life and family in spite of everything and I can only admire her courage and strength in doing so. Her story has moved me to tears more than once but her absolute determination to focus on living a positive life leaves me quite dumbstruck. She is one awesome woman and my words do not do her justice!

Many of our conversations have been non-public but she has told me that she likes this blog and the aims I have for it. If I am ever in any doubt about carrying on with the blog then all I will have to do is go back and read her words, this will keep me both inspired and motivated to continue because if your donations and words mean that one child is helped out of a similar situation then my feeble efforts here are worth it.

So, please, take the following small steps:-

  • Read this blog
  • Donate direct to a children’s charity of your choice.
  • Write to me about the donation and charity by commenting on this blog
  • Please also let me know what you wanted to be when you were 8
  • Tell your friends and family and ask them to do the same

I will collect your stories and keep totals for the charities and donations so that you can come back and see the fantastic charities that have been supported so far.

I hope that you do this.

Take care,

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, Giving, Life, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

Twelve Children’s Charities and £1050 It’s a weird world, this blogging

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


