Budgets and Donating…

June 22, 2010 at 9:41 pm 4 comments

So, we have had a new UK budget and there will be cuts in services over the next 4 years. The measures being taken here will be reflected all over the world as governments work against the global recession. Lives will be made more difficult as a result, I think this is a fairly obvious fact. I don’t want this blog to become political so will stick to facts and not my opinions on the matter.

The lives that I now focus on are those of children. People may have less money for their own families so will find it harder to help other families. This means that those of us who can afford to give to children should consciously do so in these straightened times.

It is terribly easy to give to valid children’s charities and any amount is always welcome. Small amounts all add up to keep charities going. I was flying with Aer Lingus at the weekend and donated my spare change, euro and US,  to their Unicef partnered Change for GoodTM campaign. This is a simple but very effective campaign and allows  you to place your change in an envelope which is collected near the end of the flight. It has collected over €6.25 million (US$8 million) to date. I am not counting this donation on the blog as I have no real idea what change I had. It was a small amount but will help that total grow which is the important thing.

So, my request to you is simple. Please:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog. We are over £1000 already!
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. So far some of the choices have been a mum, a detective, a clown and my personal favourite, a trawler deckhand. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple and if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

In the meantime, take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

It’s a weird world, this blogging The Importance of Trust

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ms H Cushion  |  June 25, 2010 at 10:15 am

    I do not often give to charities (due to being a total skinto) but Freecycle regularly and support the RAOK movement by performing Random Acts Of Kindness whenever I can. In fact, I feel a new Twitter hashtag coming on.. #RAKOF ?

    When I was 8, I wanted to be Miss World.. I think that, through my Twitter Avatars, I have achieved just that ; )

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 25, 2010 at 10:23 am

      Oh Humphrey, thank you:-)

      Obviously, you are not only Miss World but, having seen your avatars, you are Miss Eurovision, my particular favourite being Miss (?) Germany. You also know from our tweetlunacy that I was much impressed with your Heidi look.

      I will ask one favour – write back to me with details of your latest RAOK as I love this idea. My latest one was when picking up my daughter up from her part-time job (start ’em young, I say). There was quite an elderly lady standing outside the shop where daughter works and looking for the new supermarket just opened as she wanted to see what it was like. It was too far for her to walk so we offered her a lift. It may only have been a small thing but it was the right thing to do and saved here over £3 for a taxi…

      So, please write back and let me know.

      Take care,

      Lesley

      Reply
  • 3. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  June 25, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Oh, Uncle Marvo, thank you:-)

    I will say that no-one has to donate online to comment on this wee blog, collection boxes are just as valid if not more so.

    I think that your idea of giving to someone you think deserves it is an excellent one. You know where it will go and how it will be spent so for me, that is the essence of what I am trying to do.

    Your writing skills, wow! I am so impressed with your highly-developed literacy skills that I feel humbled at this point. I can only say – if I could develop skills like wot u have I would be a spectacilar righting girlie, like!

    In the meantime, I will only aspire:-)

    Thanks again and take care,

    Lesley

    Reply
  • 4. Uncle Marvo  |  June 25, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Right, you. Like this post, will tweet it.

    I don’t (normally) donate online. Therefore I’m going to take £50 and give it to the first person I can find whose child deserves it. I’m not going to give it to a recognised charity because I don’t trust most of them as far as I could throw them.

    Got Lisa Ansell’s address?

    PS when I was eight I wanted to be a good writer. Now I are one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


