The Importance of Trust

June 26, 2010 at 8:48 am Leave a comment

This world does have its fair share of cynics and a few have asked me about the blog. They consider it at best naive, at worst dumb. It doesn’t bother me that people think this way but there is one thing that irritates me. I have been asked how I know people have done as they say on the blog. I can’t decide whether this leaves me angry or flummoxed.

Do people really have such a lack of trust? I suppose some do but I don’t. I heard recently  that trust is something that you have to give without being asked, don’t wait for someone to earn your trust, just give it freely. Stephen Covey is a smart man and I love this concept, it allows us all to be more open to those around us and gives those we trust the confidence to act.  I think we would be more open and honest if we let ourselves trust more easily. There is always the chance that this will ‘bite us’ but isn’t it worth the risk?

So, I will continue to be me and do this blog. I am fine for you to consider me naive or dumb if you wish but I would rather trust you to take the following small steps:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Only give if and what you can afford. There have been large donations talked about on this blog but any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, now over £1300:-)
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. So far some of the choices have been a mum, a detective, a clown and my personal favourite, a trawler deckhand. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple and if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

In the meantime, take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

Budgets and Donating… Plan for a New Page?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


