Natural Born Klutz….

July 13, 2010 at 12:41 pm Leave a comment

I thought I should write a bit about me in this post. I don’t say much about myself as I like to focus on the aims of the blog rather than me. If you have read the About Lesley page on the blog, you will already know of my love of words, illustrated by the fact that I use 23 when 6 would do.

I also love sport and being made to think. The great thing about twittering and blogging is that it has allowed me to connect online with so many intelligent, witty and sarcastic people. I am challenged to think and have been made to laugh my socks off on occasion. I do recommend this daft and funny world to you, just be sure to balance your real life with your virtual life.

One last fact about me, I am a klutz. If there is a clumsy way to do something I am sure to find it. The most recent example was yesterday. I have a few days off so decided to get some domestic stuff done. I was getting along merrily until I decided to fold clothing in the kitchen. I was putting a few things away at the same time and saw the deep-fat fryer (yes, I know, but used rarely and I like proper chips). Being the multi-tasking type I decided to bring out the fryer to empty it and give it a clean. As we have local recycling facilities for used cooking oil I intended to decant the oil to a container and do my bit.

So, of course I set the fryer near the clean laundry and opened the lid. Then I thought, you eejit Lesley, move the clothes before you spill oil on them. Unfortunately I didn’t close the lid of the fryer while moving said clothes so my undies landed in the fryer……

I will therefore ask that you take pity me, I obviously need all the help I can get. To make me smile, you only have to take the following few steps:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Only give if and what you can afford. There have been large donations talked about on this blog but any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, currently over £1300:-), totals are generally updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple and if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Lastly, I am delighted to say that I have now started the charities page. As I receive permission from the charities mentioned on the blog I will add to this page, so far we have Plan UK and Action for Children. Please take a look to see the wonderful work these Organisations carry out.

In the meantime, take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: .

Plan for a New Page? Domestic, not domestic goddess…..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


