Domestic, not domestic goddess…..

July 14, 2010 at 9:15 pm Leave a comment

Before I regale you with a tale of my ‘domesticity’ I will emphasise that I created this blog was to make you all think about donating to children’s charities. I want you to pick a charity you are linked to or have an affinity for. Please donate to them and then come back to this blog to tell me about it. I want everyone who reads the blog to see the range of charities out there who work to lift children out of difficult situations all over this planet. Please don’t forget to read my request at the bottom of this post.

Anyone who has read the blogpost on undies and the deep-fat fryer will know that I am clumsy. I should also mention that I am messy. The two things are neither mutually exclusive nor co-dependant, I am simply both.

I will say that when I decide to deep-clean, I am fairly industrial in my approach. I get the sprays, gels, natural solutions and marigolds lined up to get some kick-ass cleaning done. I may intermittently drink many cuppas but I see the job through. Today’s task was the oven and I tackled it with some determination. When oven-cleaning I make sure that my clothing is at the tattiest range of my wardrobe so that I can dispose afterwards. Normally I recycle my unwanted clothing to Help the Aged but the cleaning outfits are selected on the basis that this is not feasible.

I will not bore you with the gory details but the oven is now clean. I am also now clean after a very long shower. The clothes, however? No, they are not clean, they will never be clean again.

I give you the photographic evidence. The oven and a glimpse of the clothing, alas now dead…..

Lastly, you know what I want you to do:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Only give if and what you can afford. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple and if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

Natural Born Klutz…. The Credit Crunch Bites

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


