The Credit Crunch Bites

July 17, 2010 at 12:14 pm 2 comments

I like to watch the BBC news in the morning as I drink my tea. It is always good to check out how the world is, whether it be capping oil wells, world cup travellers/ HIV and Apple offering free iPhone cases….

So, I watched with interest an item with input from a representative of the National Council for Voluntary Organisations (NCVO) and deputy chairman of the Local Government Association. I include an extract from the website:-

The government has said cuts are needed across all areas but that it has freed up local authorities to work with voluntary groups in a new, more productive way. Greg Clark, minister for decentralisation, said: “What we want to make sure we do is to make sure that there’s space for voluntary organisations, for the ‘big society’, to take the initiative, to be able to say to councils, ‘You were obliged to do this, this way by the government in the past, now let’s sit down together and see if we can do things in a different way.'”

Needless to say, the NVCO reacted to this –  Karl Wilding, of the NCVO, said: “All that we ask is that government cut with care, they cut with the knowledge of the impact of those cuts are going to be.

“Voluntary Organisations read the newspapers like you and I and they are expecting cuts in the region of 25-30% but our concern is that these voluntary organisations will be seen as a soft targets and they will experience bigger cuts than perhaps elsewhere.”

This is a small extract but gives the flavour of what is and will happen globally. Many charities depend on government to part-fund their activities, others compete for funds raised via telethons, lotteries and, in the case of disasters, through public momentum.

There are people who voice concerns, sometimes correctly, about charities, their administration costs and the value of the work that some charities carry out. I consciously do not make judgements on the charities that will be mentioned on this blog, if you admire and support the charity then I am happy that they are included on the blog.

I would also like to put a request out there to anyone who reads this blog. So far the correspondents on the blog have been mostly come from the UK and US. I would love to see how many other nationalities could be added to the blog so please pass the link to the blog to your friends from ‘abroad’, I would love to hear from them too:-)

With this all in mind, you know that I will add my normal request:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Only give if and what you can afford. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

Domestic, not domestic goddess….. So, Should I Consider All Charities?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tony Letts  |  July 17, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    A worthy request. The only charity who I donate to is the Salvation Army. I prefer to donate my time rather than money, so I spend many happy hours working at a children’s hospice and also crewing on boats which give free trips to the disabled.

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  July 17, 2010 at 3:33 pm

      Tony,

      A lovely comment, thank you. I have had other comments on the blog for time being donated and I don’t underestimate the importance of this. I admire all people who are happy to donate their time to worthy causes, especially where children are involved:-) Also, the fact that you choose to do this at a children’s hospice is awesome! Hospice’s are key in helping the terminally ill and their families with respite, support and comfort. I know that they can also be places of laughter and joy, so key to making a difference to everyone involved.

      I thank you for your comment and hope that you will check back in from time to time to see how the blog is doing.

      Take care,

      Lesley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


