So, Should I Consider All Charities?

July 18, 2010 at 9:59 am Leave a comment

I have been asked a couple of questions regularly since I start doing this blog. Why children’s charities and why ‘When I was 8….’?

Children are vunerable to circumstances and often have no say in how their lives go. Many have to struggle with poverty, disease and illness. They are at the mercy of whatever life throws at them and don’t have the power or influence to make changes. I know this also applies to adults in horrendous circumstances. However, I focus on children’s charities because helping children can also take some of the strain away from their parents and carers.

Why ‘When I was 8’? When a child is 8 they are still a child but have learned awareness of the wider world. This is the age when ambitions are starting to form, when a child starts to think about growing up. At 8 years old most children will be able to converse at an almost adult level and will seek to understand the reasons for situations and events. They are sensitive but the need for society and friendship is formed at this age. So, children at 8 will have ambitions, they may change as they get older but an 8 year old’s ambition will have that mix of some understanding of the big, bad world without the constraints we put on ourselves as we grow up.

With this in mind I will continue to focus on children’s charities. I am delighted that I have received comments on other charities but the blog-totals will be kept for children at this time.

Please take the following small steps:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Only give if and what you can afford. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, we are now over £1300 and for this I thank you all
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already.

The steps are simple and if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

I will leave you with a German proverb – Charity sees the need, not the cause.

In the meantime, take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

The Credit Crunch Bites The Big Society?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


