The Big Society?

July 21, 2010 at 10:56 pm 4 comments

Anyone who has come to this site before will know that this is not a political blog, far from it. If you read my blog, including the tale of the  deep-fat fryer you will realise this.

However, I did feel impelled to at least reference the new UK Government initiative on ‘The Big Society’. I apologise to all non-UK readers in the hope that you will see that my blog is not targeted to a UK audience, it is targeted at everyone…..

I understand the ethos behind the Big Society, it is based on the inherent kindness of people. However, I don’t see it as an adequate replacement for appropriate and adequate funding. I am very middle of the road politically, probably a wet liberal, small ‘l’ please note. I feel that Government has a responsibility to provide for those who are not able to provide for themselves. I also believe that we as a society need to help others, to do good. I don’t think that either Government or society can undertake this task on their own.

I therefore have concerns about this initiative, charity is wonderful human trait but is not a replacement for responsibilities which, to my mind, are owned by Government. It makes me think that we could regress back to a Victorian society and this is a backward move. All that being said, I will reserve judgement on the Big Society until we see all the details, we need to understand how funding will continue or not to make up our minds on this.

This will not stop me with my requests to you as this is the point of my blog:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Only give if and what you can afford. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

So, Should I Consider All Charities? Invest Wisely?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. colin arthur  |  August 19, 2010 at 12:10 am

    the big society is not a notion of liberal thinking or kindness to our fellow man. it is a method of controlling frustrations and misfits by making the upper classes seem more caring.
    but the notion of being in a society is important in our modern electronic age as we lose touch with our neighbours.
    society is not about reading the scary mail papers and going tut tut but wanting to make a difference to those around us.
    people need to feel that there is something better something to aim for.
    maybe wheniwas8 i believed; which is never a bad thing

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 21, 2010 at 4:54 pm

      Colin,

      Strong opinions but I am not surprised as you are my brother and I know of your beliefs:-)

      I agree and I like your 8 year-old ambition, belief in our fellow man is so important, isn’t that why I am doing this?

      Of course, as your big sister, I will now nag you and ask you to come back here again once you have donated to a children’s charity, how could I not do one small nag?

      Love to you.

      Lesley

      Reply
  • 3. Carolyn  |  July 24, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    The Big Society is good when it is supported by government.
    I have 2 friends who have just opened up 2 separate enterprises. The 1st is a non profit making shop opened with the sole purpose of offering work experience to young adults with Aspergers Syndrome and High Functioning Autism to prepare them for work in regular, paid employment. This is a service that could not be provided by government.

    The 2nd friend has opened a daycare service for severely Autistic Adults. The services provided by the state in the region are inadequate, hence the service she has set up. Now, that branch of funding for these vulnerable people has been cancelled. This is where the link with government needs to be addressed.

    As David Cameron said upon entering Number 10….

    …those that can should, and those who can’t we will always help.
    David Cameron 11th May 2010 ……

    The help is needed now, Dave.

    Reply
    • 4. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  July 24, 2010 at 10:54 pm

      Carolyn,

      Thank you for your comment, I am interested to hear the viewpoints of all on the blog. I do try to be apolitical here but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to see the comments of others. I have some indirect experience of Aspergers and anyone who works to support those with this condition are both kind and compassionate.

      I am not Big Society, I believe that we are all one society, including all governments. I feel that individuals have a duty to care for our fellow man and that our governments should help those who can’t. It will always be a mix of the two, one complementing the other, not replacing.

      Take care,

      Lesley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


