Invest Wisely?

July 26, 2010 at 10:37 pm 15 comments

In these straightened times, I understand that you need to focus on family, job security, saving and not spending. People are cautious about investing, whether in banks or shares. We are all trying to make our money stretch as far as it can….

Despite all this, I am going to ask you to invest, not in banks or shares, but to a children’s charity of your choice. This investment will give nothing back to you except the sense that you have done something good.

The investment I ask for is not large, only what you can comfortably afford. If you do this and tell me about it then others might do the same. The wonderful thing about small investments is that they grow quickly if everyone joins in! Your small investment will join with the others to make a real difference to children somewhere. That difference may mean treatment for disease, food to alleviate hunger, education to allow children a choice……

So, please make a small investment in a child’s future. Then come back to this blog, the normal instructions to follow:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

The Big Society? A Post of Two Halves.

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sire  |  August 6, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Hey Lesley, just in case you’re interested, don’t know why I didn’t mention it before, but Eleanor has a blog that is charity related and I thought you may want to check it out. It’s called Give A Brick

    Reply
  • 3. Nancy  |  August 4, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    Hi Lesley

    What a great post – I follow you on twitter, though not sure we’ve ever actually tweeted each other, but this is so much better anyway – no 140 limits ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I follow loads of charities on twitter – most of which I’d have never heard of otherwise! I have 3 different types of charities which are closest to my heart..Cancer charities because I lost a friend (and CRUK is the reason I’m on twitter!)…AIDS charities because I used to live in Africa and left my heart there….and children’s charities because I am a mum to 3 beatifully healthy children and am thankful for that every day. To cut that rather lengthy story short, I can’t support all the charities I follow financially, but I did send a parcel of art and craft materials to @savethefamilyuk last week. They work to keep families together when they have become homeless, so that children aren’t torn from their familes and put into care.

    So that was my children’s charity of choice, and I was very pleased to have supported them ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nancy x
    (@CRUKWalton)

    PS When I was 8, I wanted to be a nurse – became a programmer and hate the sight of blood now ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
    • 4. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 4, 2010 at 10:15 pm

      Hi Nancy,

      What a brilliant comment! I know what you mean about having the three types of charities close to your heart. It was hard for me to make my choice when starting the blog and that is why I decided to let everyone tell me about their favourite children’s charities. I love the fact that I get to look at so many organisations doing such great work – this has been an eye-opener for me in the best way:-)

      I also love your donation as it lets us all know yet another way we can help. Sometimes children need something to unwrap and get joy from and a parcel of art and craft goodies would have lifted those children in a special way. As per our little tweet-chat I will add ยฃ10 to the blogroll for this although I know it was worth more. The blog totals are updated every weekend so this will be added in.

      I am also delighted to add another great charity to the list, Save the Family. I have also started to follow them on Twitter and will be writing to them at the weekend to see if they are happy for me to write about them.

      Lastly, you and I must be quite alike as I too wanted to be a nurse and then moved into IT although it wasn’t so much blood as other functions that put me off! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      My thanks to you again, take care of yourself and your lovely family,

      Lesley xx

      Reply
  • 5. Kimberly Castleberry  |  August 2, 2010 at 3:42 am

    What a wonderful post and a huge heart you have!

    I’d suggest getting social media share buttons on your post so that we can share this around facebook and twitter too when we visit!

    Good luck!
    Kimberly

    Reply
    • 6. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 2, 2010 at 6:54 am

      Kim,

      Thank you very much, both for your comment and your advice. I will definitely look into sharing this so that it can be sent out further:-)

      I will of course ask that the next time you donate to a children’s charity that you will come back here and tell me all about it and perhaps see some of the other comments that are out there….

      Take care,

      Lesley xx

      Reply
  • 7. Sire  |  August 1, 2010 at 1:03 am

    What an admirable post. I normally give something to charity when they call but there is one that I contribute to on a regular basis. I donate to World Vision where I sponsor two children and have been doing so for years.

    You get regular regular reports on how they are going and it’s good to watch them grow. Once it’s deemed that the community they’re in are able to look after themselves World Vision find me other children that need help. A good investment indeed.

    Reply
    • 8. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 1, 2010 at 8:28 am

      Hi Sire,

      Thank you, both for your reply to my comment on your blog and for this comment. I created a new page recently for those charities that are happy for me to blog about them. I ask permission first as I want them to be happy about this. A few have been added so far and I have a couple of new approvals so I will update the ‘Charities Page’ (I came up with that original page title myself!) later today.

      I do have to ask one favour of you. To add to my totals, I need to know your monthly donation? Many of the comments have been added from people like you who donate monthly to charities that benefit children. I always take 6 months contributions as the figure to add to my blog-total.

      I am also chuffed that we have a new charity to add to the blogroll and totals:-) I will be writing to World Vision this week to ask their permission to blog on them too!

      My thanks again, take care of you and yours.

      Lesley

      Reply
      • 9. Sire  |  August 1, 2010 at 9:02 am

        No problem at all Lesley. I donate $87 per month to World Vision. I’ll be interested to see their response to your query.

      • 10. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 1, 2010 at 9:11 am

        Sire,

        Thank you:) I did forget to mention that this is also another first, getting AUS$ on the blog…..

        I will count 6 months donations so your addition to the blogroll will be $522, brilliant!

        Take care,

        Lesley

  • 11. Linda G. Cox  |  July 31, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Lesley~
    It’s fascinating to see the law-of-attraction in action! I was reading my good friend, Kimberly Castleberry’s post, which led me to WassupBlog, reading his, led me here! What is so amazing is that I have recently become a full-time humanitarian! I am working on erradicating starvation with the fastest growing child sponsorship program in the world. This foundation succeeds without asking for a single donation! I would love to tell you about it!

    Reply
    • 12. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  July 31, 2010 at 6:04 pm

      Linda,

      Please do, I would be delighted for you to tell all of us about it and if I get the details it might be good for a new post here?

      Thank you for reaching out:-)

      Lesley

      Reply
    • 13. Kimberly Castleberry  |  August 2, 2010 at 3:40 am

      Lesley arrives on my blog after saying she’s already met some of my favorite people! I had to jump over here and join the party! Woot!

      I brought dips and chips! Hope someone brought the fruit punch, we’re gonna need it!
      Kimberly

      Reply
  • 14. Iain  |  July 27, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Hi Lesley, followed you through from Twitter (@IainMonty).
    I don’t give to charities usually because there are so many good causes to chose from.
    I particularly don’t single out any one children’s charity, as I am involved in the children’s justice system in Scotland and I know so many good groups and charities I couldn’t favour an individual one.
    I still support what you’re doing though and wish you luck.
    At the age of 8, I so wanted to be in the RAF, but they are not big on disabled people apparently. lol

    Reply
    • 15. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  July 27, 2010 at 10:46 pm

      Iain,

      I understand what you mean, this is why I created the blog for any children’s charity that a person would want to support or when a pound was dropped into a collection box. My aim is to promote any valid children’s charity.

      Your work in the children’s justice system will show you the best and worst, I assume? Children in hard circumstances but all those good people and organisations wanting to help so I know that you are giving of your time and effort for children, I can only applaud you for that….

      I love your 8 year-old ambition, it is just a pity that the RAF haven’t caught up with others yet:-)

      Thank you for your comment and take care,

      Lesley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


