A Post of Two Halves.

August 6, 2010 at 9:48 am 4 comments

So, here I sit on a very lazy day off. I do have lots to do but am not yet into a gear that will involve movement. I feel like this:-

Lesley on a Day Off!

When we all know I should be like this!

What Lesley Should be Doing!

The situation is not helped as it is raining, that Northern Ireland mizzle that makes you want to stay indoors and ignore the world outside.

To alleviate my guilt I will do a small post. It may have started off in a dizzy fashion but the serious stuff begins now…..

I watched the news this morning and it is 65 years since Hiroshima. They showed the ceremony to mark this horrendous event and noted the attendance of a US representative for the first time. It was a simple and moving ceremony; the apex was the toll of a temple bell to mark the start of a minute’s silence.

I still find it hard to believe that someone made a decision to do this and that there are some people/Governments out there who continue to store, build, consider using atomic bombs. What are you thinking? Why would you think that? I do not understand you! I do not want to join the debate about the nuclear deterrent, I don’t want to join any debate on anything that has the power to take so much life. I just believe that it is wrong. My views may be simple, please feel free to disagree but surely it is better to try and bring a little good into the world and not destruction?

I apologise if you find yourself confused by a post that started off light-hearted and moved on to death and destruction. However, isn’t that how the world is? One moment laughing, the next stunned by yet another horror.

This is why I do this blog, I am not trying to redress any cosmic balance, I only want to make you think about a small good you can do. My mission, as always, is to get you to donate to a children’s charity and then comment anywhere on this blog to tell me about the donation and your 8 year old ambitions.

Your stories about the charities you support show me that people are inherently good and try to do their best for others. Your stories about your childhood ambitions make me chuckle. I love doing this blog for those 2 reasons so thank you to all who have written to me. If you read this and like it please pass it on, I am dependant on you all:-)

I will close with the normal instructions to follow:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

Invest Wisely? Football!!!!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ShugNiggurath  |  August 8, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    I raised £322 for Children with Leukaemia by walking the West Highland Way. (I also just sent £200 raised on a World Cup Game to Erskine Hospital / armed forces charity, but it’ll be kids next time).

    What I really, really wanted to be when I was a child was a tiger. They looked really cool and majestic. I was quite upset when I realised I couldn’t get to be one for real. So I went on a rampage instead and by the end of it wanted to be a solicitor or a journalist.

    I’m not that wee boy anymore, but I do work in the newspaper industry so I was sort of on the money.

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 8, 2010 at 3:42 pm

      Oh Shug,

      I so love your tiger ambition, who doesn’t love a good rampage:-) I am disappointed for you that you couldn’t get to be a tiger when you grew up but many might think that journalists are carnivores? I apologise for that jest with the excuse that I know many lovely journalists……

      Walking and fundraising – you are an man full of action, I checked and that is 96 miles of walking, awesome you! And you gave it to Children with Leukaemia which is a new charity to add to my list. I always update the totals pages on Sunday evening so tonight will be fun for me:)

      I also want to congratulate you on your fundraising for the Erskine Hospital/Armed Forces Charity. I know this blog focuses on children’s charities but I still wish to applaud everyone who raises money for such a deserving cause…….

      My thanks to you again for such a brilliant comment:)

      Take care of you and yours,

      Lesley

      Reply
  • 3. Neill Morris  |  August 7, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Hi
    I agree, using the atom bomb was a terrible thing, but I think it was a world conflict, the Japanese showed no sign of surrender after the horrendous invasion and loss of life on Okinawa. A general land invasion of Japan would have probably have wrought more death and destruction than the bomb, was there an alternative to either, I don’t know. As for my part, I served on Polaris submarines so was at the sharp end of our deterrent. Not that I ever wanted to destroy or kill anything. I can only kind of come to terms with these things by saying we never launched our “birds” as that would have been a failure of our mission. But the young guys who take the boats to sea are people like you and me, who joined up to serve and leave the big strategic decisions to the politicians. They are the ones who instigate wars and conflict and send boys out to their deeds.But everyone knows in their hearts that nuclear weapons are wrong, its just getting the big boys to admit it! Well thats the end of my waffle, hopefully some much smarter people will add their thoughts. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 7, 2010 at 5:04 pm

      Hi Neill,

      Thank you for this comment, none of which was waffle:) It does me good to be reminded that my viewpoint is only that and I am always keen to hear others’ opinions….

      It was a world conflict and am aware of many of the atrocities commited. I condem those as well but my comments on Hiroshima were to do with the taking of so many civilian lives; I should have been more clear about that. This also extends to the blitz in London and the bombing of Dresden, never mind the camps which will always repulse me.

      I do support those who serve their countries and believe that they do so knowing the dangers they face. What they face in battle is why they should be lauded and supported. They do not take the decisions but are called to implement the decisions of Governments, dictators, whomever is in control. I am a great supporter of the Geneva convention and associated protocols, victims and those who take to the battlefield should be treated humanely and with respect. This is at the crux of my opinion on war. I know it is necessary at times, I am not naive enough to believe otherwise, the needs of the many are tantamount.

      So, my apologies if I seemed too simplistic but I am glad that you came back to me with your input; I need to be made to think about what I write and balanced debate and opinions are always welcome here:)

      I hope that this reply helps round out my message.

      Take care,

      Lesley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


