I am a Grown Woman, honest, I just love tweeting!

August 13, 2010 at 10:30 am 4 comments

I will start this post with a reminder that this blog was created to nudge you all into writing to me about any donations you make to a children’s charity. If you read the About Lesley section of the blog you will know why I do this. I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity and then come back here and write to me. Tell me about the charity, your donation and what you wanted to be when you were 8. The full ‘instructions’ will, as always, be at the bottom of this post.

However, I want to blog tonight about my love for Twitter. I joined Twitter nearly 2 years ago and it was initially a very sporadic experience for me. I found it hard to get to grips with, when you start out you feel as if you are typing into a void. I was stupid excited the first time I received a Follow Friday mention. I now realise that some people randomly do this to increase their follower count but most of us, me included, like to Follow Friday my favourite people. There are a lot of them as Twitter has reinforced one of my most strongly held beliefs, people are funny, kind, supportive and more than slightly bonkers:-)

I follow lots of interesting people. This does include a few ‘higher-profile’ folk that I find interesting, why not? However, the people I have fun with, laugh with and occasionally debate with are like me, the Joe Public of this world. They encompass a wide range of opinions and attitudes, mixing it up is a good thing. It does you good to chat to non-like-minded people, they challenge our (smug?) assumptions. I know I am taken outside my comfort zone.

Please do not think that my Twittering is serious, far from it! I have laughed hard and choked on my tea or wine as I read. If you ever have a bad day then go on Twitter and look around, you will find smart and sassy in spades. Your mood will be lifted and you will have any blues banished in a thrice!

I am tempted to name people one by one but that would be unfair, both to those I name as they are eejit enough to follow me and to those I may accidentally omit. I do keep a list of my favourite people so please check out Lesleys- List, they are the folks to give a follow to. You can easily check it out by looking at my Twitter page accessible from here.

Twitter has also led me into the Avatar Challenge. This is generally started up by Humphrey Cushion (@HumphreyCushion), one person who must be named because of her dedication to the cause of Avatars. It is for her that I have done this:-

Lesley does Baby Spice

As well as this!

Lesley does Edward G Robinspoon

Yes, I am a grown-up and I know there is no excuse for this but I don’t think it needs one! My family think I have truly lost any marbles I ever had but I am comfortable with that. This is all part of the true fun that is Twitter for me, doing silly things is good for you, no matter how old you are you should still do daft every now and then:-)

I do like the serious stuff as well. I watch with interest when the political debates get going, they can be very rude and forthright but people are passionate about their beliefs and you can pack a lot of ire into 140 characters. I like the back and forth but be warned, if you find ‘bad’ language offensive then you will be shocked. I would ask you to perservere though, it is worth it.

I have mentioned the 140 character limit faced by all on Twitter. There are ways to do longer tweets but I rarely do this, I like the discipline imposed by the limit. I find that it helps me curtail my wordy nature, don’t tell me you didn’t notice, I know you all did! I have been able to trim some of my more verbose prose, especially an over-use of ‘that’. This has been valuable for my blogging life, at least I think so? You may tell me if it has worked by comparing this to some of my earlier posts….

I did originally intend this post to be about my acquired love for Twitter and blogging but as you can see, I have focused on the tweets first. I could have written much more on this topic and may come back to it again in a future post. I will do a separate post on blogging soon, another wonderful world, inextricably linked to my Twitter world but deserving of its own place on this blog.

I do hope that you donate to a children’s charity and come back here to tell me about your life. My thanks to you for reading:) I will close with the normal instructions to follow:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, Twitter, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , .

Football!!!! Sunny Dunny? Why I love Donegal…….

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ms H Cushion  |  August 13, 2010 at 11:47 am

    *GRIN*.. I was SO hoping you would use the Avatars sometime and let the world see how daft you are.. *cough*.. You lot are the wind beneath my fairy-wings : )

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 13, 2010 at 2:20 pm

      Hi Humph,

      Me? Daft, can’t think what you mean? Hoot!! As you can see, I decided to let the blogging world see the ‘Real Lesley’, I just hope it doesn’t put everyone off. Although, ‘meh’. you got to take me as I am, can’t change me now, don’t want to!

      Thank you for having a look and being happy that I gave you a mention, how could I not…….

      Take care of you and yours,

      Lesley

      Reply
  • 3. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 13, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Neill,

    Thank you lovely:-) You see, all, my twitter pals are a wonderful bunch!

    £1 a week does mount up and I always count 6 months of donations so will add £26 to the blogtotals for the NSPCC and Red Cross when I do my weekly update. As I keep telling everyone, every pound mentioned on this blog makes me smile so I am delighted to be able to add this to the total.

    GAYE Is a great way to donate without pain, do it myself so chuffed that you have taken the time to write to me.

    Thank you for saying the post is fantastic, as for the photos? I think they demonstrate that I am not afraid to be an eejit so I am okay with that….

    Thank you again Neill, take care of you and your lovely family.

    Love,

    Lesley

    Reply
  • 4. Neill  |  August 13, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Haha fantastic post with amazing photos. I must admit they bought a huge smile.. I donate thru GAYE, It goes to 5 charities, but it does include NSPCC and British Red Cross, its only a pound a week, I should up it really, I’ve done it since GAYE came in so hopefully it’s mounting up. Your spurred me into upping it now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


