Sunny Dunny? Why I love Donegal…….

August 22, 2010 at 10:09 pm 2 comments

As always, I will start with a reminder that this blog is here to nudge you all into writing to me about any donations you make to a children’s charity. Please donate direct to a children’s charity and then come back here and write to me.  The full ‘instructions’ will, as ever, be at the bottom of this post.

I have just returned from a week in Rathmullan, a village in Donegal. I love Donegal but Rathmullan most of all. It is a small place but there are views, beach, fishing and of course, pubs and nice places to eat. The best chipshop I have ever frequented is in Rathmullan and they had a restaurant as well! I can recommend Toblerone cheesecake, divine……

I have pondered why it is Rathmullan I crave above all in Donegal? There are some places where I feel at peace and Rathmullan is one of them. There are two other places where I have recognised this feeling, Whitepark Bay on the North Antrim coastline and the Palatine Gardens in Rome. I love all three equally and hope to find more as I travel through life.

Back to Rathmullan and it’s charm for me. To be honest, I’m not sure I know why Rathmullan feels so right to me and I don’t want to overthink it and perhaps damage the feeling. However, this may have something to do with it?

This was on a good day, the sun does not always shine in Donegal! But when the sun does shine it is truly beautiful. For me, it is the combination of water and green hills that makes it tranquil but rugged and just a little wild at the edges. I know my words do not do it justice but perhaps this will help you see what I mean….

Don’t be fooled by the pictures above, the rain and wind is frequent in Donegal, you had best visit with a wardrobe that can cope with all conditions. I wore shorts and t-shirts in the morning and jeans and fleece in the afternoon but that is part of the charm. You also need to have distractions when the weather is too bad to venture out. I give you the evidence of my Sunday evening’s entertainment. We travelled to Rathmullan with our eldest son and his lovely girlfriend, they had come over from London for the week. Son and I then spent Sunday evening working on the Sunday Times crossword and I am very pleased to say that we finished it! I know that this would be a 15 minute diversion for many of you but for us it felt like a real achievement. I then worked on my 2 favourite Sudoku puzzles and finished them too; it really shows what you can do when your brain gets a chance to rest:) This may be very sad of me but I had to take pictures, sorry but I was rather chuffed with myself for a change….

The pictures may not be of the best quality but I promise that all the blanks were filled in!

Another big advantage of holidaying locally is that Buster was allowed to come too. Buster is our dog and will be the subject of a post on his own one day, his miniature schnauzer personality will merit that. Buster really enjoyed his break and was at home on many beaches, here he is with my other half on yet another gorgeous beach:)

I do have one more Donegal picture for you but this one is because I love this pic, it shows all the beauty of my land in one snap. I am proud of this shot, I am not normally so lucky as to get one this good so wanted to share it….

I know I am lucky to be able to spend time with my loved ones and have a restful break. I try not to take my life for granted, it is important to look at your life in a positive way and I do my best to live happily and positively. However, behind all this I know that others struggle. If you have read my blog before you will know that I want the children of this world to enjoy childhood and not face hardships, poverty, illness. I want them all to have the best of childhoods and be able to move into adulthood with happiness and kindess at their core. I know this is too much to ask for everyone but I am hoping that you will want to help reduce the burdens on some children somewhere? So please, read this blog, tell me what you think….

I do hope that you donate to a children’s charity and come back here to tell me about your life. My thanks to you for reading:) I will close with the normal instructions to follow:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

I am a Grown Woman, honest, I just love tweeting! When I was 8?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 22, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Iain,

    What can I say, Buster has it all going on:-) He is the ultimate doggie dictator in the making, small dog with big ambitions.

    I am so glad you liked the post and the pics, my country is a beautiful one and if I have made one person want to take a trip ‘down my way’ then I am a happy bunny…..

    Thank you for reading, take care:)

    Lesley

    Reply
  • 2. Iain  |  August 22, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Lesley, what fantastic photos. And a great blog. I was ready to book tickets right away.

    You are absolutely right aout letting the brain rest, and if I ever get one in working order I will bear that in mind.

    Looking forward to hearing about Buster too, he looks an absolute star.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


