Publicity?

August 26, 2010 at 9:23 pm 2 comments

The thing about this blog is I need more readers to be successful. I can’t just send blogposts into the ether and hope that people will read them ‘accidentally’. I am completely dependant on people coming here to tell me about their donations to children’s charities and what they wanted to be when they were 8.

So, I have been exploring potential ways I can get some publicity for the blog. I did join a ‘increase your site traffic’ site but found it a bit weird? You click through a lot of sites, build points and your site will be displayed for others to click on in turn. Not my thing as it appeared that all the sites I had to trawl through were ‘make money’ sites and this is not what I am about. Yes, I want people to donate direct to charities but I have no wish to profit from my blog so I unsubscribed after one day……

Anyone who has read this blog will know my fondess for Twitter and many people on there have retweeted my posts so that I do get viewers to the blog. They are all kind to me! One person has also volunteered to get me coverage in media news such as newspapers, hard and soft copy. This is only in the early stages so I look forward to seeing this develop.

I do think that this blog is quite like Marmite, you will either love it or think it too twee/goody-goody? Such is life, I don’t want to force anyone to read or like this, I just want people to write to me if they like the blog. This of course, brings me back round to the exposure connundrum, I need people to read and share with the hope that a small percentage of visitors will want to write to me after making a donation.

So, I have thinking about additional ways to promote the blog and have a few theories on what I can do:

Fliers?

Thanks to GNU & Wikipedia

Well, the picture above shows why I won’t go the fliers route. We have enough mess out there without me adding to the mayhem!

Sandwich Board?

Well, hoot! You can see me doing this, can’t you? People think I am bonkers enough without adding fuel to the fire:)

There are other avenues I am exploring but I am going to be ‘Secret Squirrel’ about these for a while; they may become the subject of later posts; I will preserve their mystery to give me a subject to come back to:)

I do hope that you donate to a children’s charity and come back here to tell me about your life and childhood ambitions. My thanks to you for reading. I will close with the normal instructions to follow:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , .

When I was 8? What My Kids Said!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 28, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Lol! Yes, White Rabbit, that is a start. We should all be careful what we wish for, shouldn’t we? I work in IT and I wanted to be in IT. I think I got what I wanted but some days I am not so sure:)

    A great comment but I will ask you to visit me again when you next donate to a children’s charity? That is the main thing about this blog as I want people to write to me about their donations as well as their ambitions…..

    Take Care lovely Rabbit,

    Lesley

    Reply
  • 2. white rabbit  |  August 28, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Okay I read it! Is that a start?

    I’ve no idea what I wanted to be when I was 8. When I was 15 I decided that I wanted to be a lawyer and a writer. Be careful what you wish for…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


