What My Kids Said!

August 28, 2010 at 10:21 am Leave a comment

I wanted to do a blog on my children. We all know that this blog is created to get you all to write to me about your donations to children’s charities and what you wanted to be when you were 8.

I picked the age of 8 deliberately as children have started to get a wider world view by this age so they start to have ambitions whilst retaining all the innocence of younger childhood.

This leads to ambitions that are small and big at the same time; you see children wanting to be astonauts or tigers!

What Hugh Wanted To Be?

You have to love it, don’t you!

Back to my children. They are all grown-ups now and I am very proud of them. I have had worry and joy bringing up three children, I think that is what we all experience as we try to bring them up with manners, consideration for others and ambition to do the best they can in this world.

However, one thing I have also had aplenty is laughter. My kids have made me smile and laugh over the last twenty-something years. Everyone has stories like this so I wanted to share some of mine with you……

My eldest son was early at everything, talking, walking and doing! He has grown up into a very smart man too. He was also a thinker from a young age and this could be worrisome for him. We had a long period when he was 2 where he worried that I would die while he slept. The problem for me was I didn’t want to lie to him and say this could never happen. Therefore, my compromise was to promise I would do my very best not to pop my clogs overnight. As long as I promised this, sang Postman Pat three times and read many stories he would settle down happily to sleep.

He also loved to spend time with my mother. They would disappear with books to read and chat and I would find them together laughing at Ogden Nash poetry when he was 4. This was also when the philisophical discussions would start. My personal favourite was the time they were discussing God. The question to my mother was ‘Nana, does God wear clothes?’. My mother wasn’t too sure but they discussed robes, trousers etc. Then the follow-up question came – ‘Nana, if God does wear clothes, does he have a washing machine?’ Ever practical that boy:)

On to my younger son. As is the case with many second children you are more relaxed and they are, as a result, more adventurous. My younger son was a climber as soon as he could get around. We had to rearrange the bedroom furniture when we discovered him climbing out the bedroom window after scaling the chest of drawers, he was two!

He was also a messy pup but he hated getting his hands dirty. I remember the day he wanted to play in the back garden on a winters day. We dressed him in the ‘Paddington Bear’ duffel coat and a hat, he wouldn’t wear gloves. Off he toddled but he didn’t stay on the paved area and wandered onto the mucky patch that occasionally masqueraded as grass. Unfortunately he slipped and fell in the muck. He was fine but didn’t want to get his hands dirty to get back up. What followed then was five minutes of rolling around in the mud with no success as he tried to get back on his feet and keep his hands clean. My husband and I were watching the whole time but laughing too hard to help (bad parents!). He did get back up and we had to take him straight to the bath.

The other thing that typified my younger son was his lovely nature. I went to parents evening at school when he was 8. She told me he was a lovely child and gave a lovely example. All the children were lined up to go into the classroom after break. The teacher was at the door ushering them all in. When it came to my son he wouldn’t go in the door and she was about to chide him for not moving when he said ‘Oh no miss, after you’. I loved that…..

Then came the daughter! I was surprised that I had a girl as I was always convinced that I would only ever have boys so having a daughter was a different experience. Don’t let anyone tell you that they are the same to raise, boys and girls are very different. Daughters want to rule the roost as soon as they are able and she was a bossy-boots as soon as she could talk. Unfortunately, she seemed to pick up many of my mannerisms and there was one hands on hips pose that was apparently very familiar, I have no idea what eveyone was talking about!

As all my children did, my daughter loved to see her Nanas. She loved to spend time with both of them on her own, no mum in sight. I think this is true of all children, they like to be with grandparents as they will be spoilt without the ‘eagle-eye’ of mum on them to slow the supply of sweets and cartoons.

When my daughter was 5 I had to work in England during the week for a few months. I didn’t enjoy being away from my children but they were well cared for by their dad with help from the grandparents. The daughter was spending time with my mum one day and was allowed to watch her favourite shows on television. My mother was knitting a multi-coloured jumper for another of her many grand-daughters at the time. This meant many balls of wool being scattered about with many strands of wool on the needles. My daughter was watching this closely and started to get a little worried by the ‘tangle’ of wool. After some consideration she said to my mother, ‘Nana, you know, my mummy can knit, she can teach you to knit too’. My mother agreed and told the daughter she taught me to knit when I was 4. At this my daughter looked very confused and asked seriously ‘What happened, Nana did you lose your mind?’. My mother, once she had stopped laughing, was able to reassure my daughter that the tangle was proper knitting and not just a mess, the daughter remained unconvinced……

I can and do knit, not as much as I used to but I did complete this last week for my eldest son’s lovely girlfriend!

I now have an order for a multi-coloured scarf for my youngest son’s girl, that is next on the list:)

Thank you for reading this little snippet about my children. I do hope that you donate to a children’s charity and come back here to tell me about your life and childhood ambitions. My thanks to you for reading. I will close with the normal instructions to follow:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Childhood, Children, wheniwas8. Tags: , , .

Publicity? Crisis?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


