Crisis?

August 31, 2010 at 9:57 pm Leave a comment

Sometimes blogging makes me feel like this!

However, today I feel more like this!

This blog needs readers and commenters to exist, it is that simple. Without people who want to read the blog and then want to tell me about their donations to children’s charities I will exist in a vacuum. So, I occasionally feel insecure about what I am trying to do. Has this idea any merit? Am I able to make any difference at all by typing words? Should I redirect my efforts in more practical ways?

I also have to consider the mechanics of blogging. I know I am way too obsessed with the statistics generated for views on the blog. I know I shouldn’t check them so often but am drawn in with the hope that the blog will be read and resonate enough with the reader that they add a comment about their favourite charity and what they wanted to be at 8. I have to blog often enough and interestingly enough in the hope of gaining and keeping readers to the blog. I am always thinking about what I can blog about next, I need to put the effort in if I am to get readers.

Then there are the ‘icky’ aspects of this blogging life. I do get totally irritated with the spam comments. You should all be glad I moderate comments or you would be shocked by what bots/people attempt to add to this blog.  As someone who has never used the internet for salacious purposes I am appalled by what is sent to me. I am not a prude and try my best not to judge others but really, why would anyone think that the writer of this blog would want to read that? My thanks to WordPress that they catch as many as they do so that I am only left with a few to clear up:)

However, despite all of the moaning above, I do love this blogging life! I am not sure that this blog will ever be hugely popular. I hope it is, not for the words I put out there but for the comments on charities and childhood ambitions:) I have laughed long and hard at some of the responses I have received, I have also been moved to tears as I read about the charities you tell me about on this blog. I can only hope that this blog will make a tiny difference to some children out there. I will continue to blog and I will continue to hope that you write to me. If you read this post then please make the effort to read some of my other posts, I promise they are much cheerier!

As always, I will close with the ‘instructions’:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Children, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , .

What My Kids Said! TweetPosting….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


