The Survival Guide?

September 4, 2010 at 10:20 pm Leave a comment

Welcome to this new post. Apologies if you have read this spiel before but you should know I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I want people to make a donation then write to me by commenting on the blog. When you donate please write and tell me the charity, the donation and what you wanted to be when you were 8. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

This is the first post in a series as suggested by my Twitter pals. I sent out a couple of tweets asking for suggestions for blogposts. This post was given to me by @Dante_Banks and has been chosen as the first one as it is time-dependant. Dante’s suggestion was to blog a survival guide for the return to school. The only problem for me is that it is a very long time since I went to school. I have had to ‘dust off’ the memory banks for this one:)

Having said that, I do remember school. I did have a great group of friends and am still in contact with a couple to this day. I know we don’t talk as much as we should but I know they would be there for me if I needed them. I also remember too clearly that we all thought we were wise and mature at the age of 18, it makes me laugh to remember it. That attitude has certainly been flipped on it’s head, the older I get the less I know. I accept this, do my best to keep learning but realise that I will never know quite enough, I think it is probably the same for all of us…..

So, my tips for survival in the first weeks back to school? This post depends on the angle taken, do I go all ‘Mean Girls’ or ‘Telly Tubbies’? Other possibilities are my schooldays or the schooldays my children have almost finished? As my mind tends to wander through life I think I will be quite random with my hints and tips but here I go ready or not!

Firstly, remember your stuff, pens, bus pass, money, paper:) I know this sounds disturbingly practical but the last thing to do is hack off the teachers too early. There is always plenty of opportunity to do this, half the time you won’t even know you are but remember, the early irritations are always remembered so bring this!

Secondly, especially if you are joining a new school, don’t forget to smile. I know how naff this sounds but if you appear aloof then you are assumed to be above it all. That doesn’t mean you should go around like a grinning eejit but looking friendly is important. I know it helped me when I was at school. Although most people won’t believe it I am quite shy and can be very nervous meeting new people but looking approachable is the key to making friends…

There will always be the ‘top dog’ battle regardless of gender and there are always some who will try to dominate others. Just because you are nice doesn’t mean that others should walk all over you. This doesn’t mean that you take the same tack as the bullies of this world. However, if you develop a group of supportive friends it is less likely that you will be picked on. I know the topic is far too complicated for me to cover well. Neither do I want to make a serious issue appear lightweight so I will stop this one here. There are many better people out there who can give advice on this and they are the ones to advise.

I also urge anyone who gets the chance to work at their studies. I know all the arguments bandied about to say that what is studied at school has no relevance to ‘real life’. I accept that this may be the case but if you want to get a career then you need to have the wherewithal to achieve it. I am not talking academia, I am talking practically. If you want to be a physicist then study sciences but if you want to be a plumber then study plumbing. With the demands for places on any higher education course then you need to give yourself the best chance.

My last piece of ‘wisdom’ or ‘stating the obvious’? Take as many opportunities as are open to you and enjoy the experience. This may be sport, drama, volunteering or chess club. Don’t dismiss the choices given, you would be amazed at the enjoyment you can get out of trying something new. I can attest to that now with this blog, I wouldn’t have seen myself doing this 18 months ago but I have grown to love it….

Finally, I did ask my daughter for her advice as she has just started her last year at school. She wondered why I would blog on this topic as I really have no idea what school is like, having left it over 30 years ago; another reason for her to think me nuts. However, she did say this and I will pass it on. ‘Don’t be a root!’. I have no idea what that means but I am sure that many teenagers will:)

As always I will close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions:-)

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8 year old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, Twitter, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , .

TweetPosting…. 8 Year Olds and What they Shouldn’t Have to See…..

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


