8 Year Olds and What they Shouldn’t Have to See…..

September 6, 2010 at 11:10 pm 2 comments

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I want people to make a donation then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

I normally blog about ‘nice’ things because I like to (hopefully) amuse you all into donating to children’s charities. This is a blog meant for adults and adults know about the horrendous things in the world, they don’t need me to try to add more guilt into the mix.

However, sometimes an event occurs that means I take a very serious look at life. Today one of those events happened. I live in Northern Ireland, in a town where the news was focused today. A pipe bomb was left at a local primary school. This heinous device was lifted by an 8-year-old boy who took it to his teacher. The potential ramifications of this have left me both angry and shaken. I have an extended repertoire of words that I wouldn’t care to use here and pretty much all of them have been ringing round my head since I heard this news.

I state upfront that I consider myself to be Northern Irish and I am very proud of that. We have a beautiful country filled with wonderful people and some not so much. I don’t care which side they class themselves to be on, I have never cared. I have read about our history and there have been many injustices  in the past. However, when this country decided to vote ‘Yes’ 12 years ago I was full of hope that we could move forward. I am still full of hope as the vast majority of us do not want any more violence from any section of our people.

A pipe bomb is an improvised device, a tightly sealed section of pipe filled with an explosive material. The containment provided by the pipe means that simple low explosives can be used to produce a relatively large explosion, and the fragmentation of the pipe itself creates potentially lethal shrapnel. I have never seen one. However, I know that an 8-year-old child is very small. A child picking up a device like this and taking it to his teacher, I feel nauseous at the thought of what could have happened. So many innocent children could have been killed or injured, it is heartbreaking to consider. I move between great anger and such hurt that anyone would consider doing this and have such a sense of relief that the worst did not happen.

I know this is only one small example of potential and actual violence against children and we were fortunate that no children were hurt. This is not the case in so many news stories we read, children suffer all over the world through violence, deprivation, poverty, disease. This is the reason I do this blog, I want you all to think about the lives of children across this planet and consider them when you can donate time or money outside of all your other commitments. I don’t want to prescribe the charities you support, this should always be a personal decision. My aim is only to make you think and hopefully act.

Beyond that? I want people to be kind to each other; you may think this makes me idealistic and naive, perhaps I am. However, that doesn’t change my mind, I feel many of us think like this. I applaud those who do and can only hope that those who don’t will change their minds…..

As always I will close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Childhood, Children, Life, Northern Ireland, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , .

The Survival Guide? An Ode!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  September 6, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    Oh Neill,

    Thank you for this comment, I am so glad I am not the only one who feels like this. I love my country and it’s people and will keep up my hopes for our future……

    Take care hun,

    Lesley

    Reply
  • 2. Neill  |  September 6, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    It is hard to grasp that people can still go to such lengths. I know its only a tiny number of people perhaps less than you can count on one hand, but very sad the impact they have..
    Fantastic blog post again Lesley.. keep up the great work..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


