Charlotte’s Poem

September 25, 2010 at 5:46 pm 2 comments

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

Today’s post is a guest post of sorts and I am hugely impressed with the guest. Charlotte is 8 years old and wants to be a writer. Based on what you will read today, I think you will agree that Charlotte is a writer. I want to thank fellow tweeter and blogger Norman for bringing this to me. You will find Norman as @NoyoScotland on Twitter and via his blog http://www.noyo.eu/

Charlotte has given her permission for me to blog about a poem she wrote whilst out with her mother. The reason I asked to blog about Charlotte and bring her poem to you is very simple. This is what 8 year-olds should have the opportunity to do.

All 8 year-olds should be able to go on outings and let their imaginations go free. They should have the chance to enjoy childhood but at the same time develop their talents and grow their ambitions. In this case, Charlotte wrote a poem about Autumn.

This poem is tremendous! Please read it out loud and you will see how Charlotte has a real talent with words.

Charlotte's Poem

I don’t need to add anything more, Charlotte’s work stands out in it’s own right. I will just thank Charlotte for looking at this blog and understanding why I wanted to include her work here. My thanks to Charlotte. I am sure you will all appreciate her work as much as I do. Please read and enjoy:)

As always I will close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Childhood, Children, Donating, Poetry, Twitter, wheniwas8, Writing. Tags: , , , , , .

Star Wars, Unicorns and Platypus? Humphrey’s PJ Week….

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  September 26, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Hi Iain,

    Isn’t it just wonderful! I was so pleased that I was given permission to include it in the blog:))

    Lesley

    Reply
  • 2. Iain  |  September 25, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    What a brilliant poem, and great artwork too. Lovely stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


