Humphrey’s PJ Week….

September 26, 2010 at 7:42 pm 4 comments

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

Today’s post is the latest Twitter suggestion blog. This one comes from @HumphreyCushion who suggested  I blog on another Twitter user @HumphreysPJWeek and asked if I could work something into the blog for the other Humphrey? I am happy to do so:)

Humphrey’s PJ Week (http://www.humphreyspjweek.co.uk/) is an annual event run by The Children’s Trust Organisation http://www.thechildrenstrust.org.uk/. Humphrey’s Pyjama Week runs from the 11th to the 15th October 2010.

The premise for Humphrey’s Pyjama Week is really sweet; children at nursery school upwards donate £2 to wear their pyjamas to school. There are fun activities and a story about Humphrey’s friend who hurt their head. They can even make jam tarts as they are Humphrey’s favourite treat, yummy!

The story of Humphrey and his friend with the hurt head is a lovely way to introduce young children to the idea of disability and brain injury. It is a tough subject for a small child to understand and this is the way to introduce it with fun and delicacy. I am impressed that the Children’s Trust has come up with such a clever way to do this. Humphrey is a lovely character, see below:-

A sweet and gentle image linked to fun activities like a Treasure Hunt, what a super way for children to have fun learning about a difficult life-lesson.

Last year 10,000 children took part in Humphrey’s week, this year they are hoping to target 40,000 children into this initiative. They also have lots of support from my fellow bloggers. I sent a tweet out to say I was blogging on Humphrey’s PJ week and was contacted by Miss Lizzie (@MissieLizzieB) to let me know that there were a couple of blogposts already out there for this great event. I attach the links from Lizzie’s blog

http://missielizzie-meandmyshadow.blogspot.com/2010/09/hooray-for-humphreys-pj-week.html

and her guest post on Baby Born Free’s blog on the same subject

http://www.bornfreemumanddad.co.uk/2010/09/14/hooray-for-humphreys-pj-week/.

I also wanted to cover a little on the work that the Children’s Trust do as the monies raised from Humphrey’s PJ Week will go to this great organisation. The Children’s Trust is a national charity working with children who have multiple disabilities and complex health needs. They are based at a 24 acre site in Tadworth, Surrey but offer services to children from across the UK. They offer a unique combination of services, some of which include:-

  • Residential care with therapy, including those with an acquired brain injury
  • Community based care for those returning to home/school after a brain injury
  • Special education for children with profound and and multiple learning disabilities at The School for Profound Education
  • Hospice/palliative care

I do hope that you have learnt a little about The Children’s Trust and Humphrey’s PJ Week from this post. Please take the time to check out the websites and please also check them out on Twitter via @HumphreysPJWeek and @childrens_trust.

I hope that Humphrey’s PJ Week will be really successful and raise lots of funds for The Children’s Trust. I will also ask Humphrey and his pals to perhaps come back to the blog and let me know how much they were able to raise…….

As always I will close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Childhood, Children, Donating, Giving, Learning, Life, Twitter, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , .

Charlotte’s Poem Diamonds?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  October 4, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Hi Lesley,
    My name is Anne and I’m the social network coordinator for BornFree. We featured the post you’ve mentioned above by Missie Lizzie on our blog about Humphrey’s PJ week and addded an incentive to our readers to spread the word via Twitter, Facebook and blogs. We selected 3 people to win one of our Twist N’Pop cups today and you are one of them. I can’t find any contact details for you on your blog so I was hoping you could email me
    anne_at_newbornfree_dot_com.
    Many thanks, Anne

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  October 4, 2010 at 10:31 pm

      Hi Anne,

      Oh my, thank you! I am very chuffed that you thought of me for this and will happily contact you directly. You have brought a big smile to my face today:)

      Lesley

      Reply
  • 3. Nancy Scott  |  September 26, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    Great post Lesley, about a great charity! I emailed my daughter’s nursery about Humphrey’s PJ Week a few weeks back and I’m pleased to say they are taking part!

    I took part in the Sleepwalk for The Children’s Trust just last night, I raised an incredible £155 mostly through the generosity of my wonderful twitter friends 🙂

    Today I read about 11 year old Lauren Gander on the Children’s Trust’s FB feed – she walked the full 10 miles last night, and was the last to finish, ‘sobbing with exhaustion’. I was so moved when I read that I made a £10 donation to her page…. http://Www.justgiving.com/lauren-gander

    Thanks for writing about this incredibly important charity Lesley xx

    Reply
    • 4. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  September 26, 2010 at 9:54 pm

      Oh Nancy,

      Thank you so much for the comment and the nice words about this post. I am delighted to say that your £155 raised will take us through the £3000 barrier for the blog!

      I cannot believe that we have come so far in only 6 months for this blog. I am very humbled by all the fundraising efforts that you and so many others undertake for all the charities trying to help children. I admit that I did add my sponsorship to The Children’s Trust as I feel that their work is wonderful…

      My thanks to you again and I do hope that everyone sees your comment and helps raise more money for Lauren’s great efforts….

      I will be updating the blog totals later this week and will be delighted to add The Children’s Trust to the blogroll:))

      Take care,

      Lesley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


