My Rules for Life?

October 10, 2010 at 11:11 pm Leave a comment

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

I have been polling Twitterland again for post suggestions. It isn’t that I can’t think of new posts but I am mulling a few things that will take time to come to fruition. So, in the meantime, I give you a blog based on a twitter conversation with @Ivan_Jelical. We were discussing Rules for Life and he suggested that I blog on this.

I will therefore compile my Rules for Life. Starting point? This:-

This post makes me feel a bit nervous as I don’t want anyone to think that I want to give them rules to live by. These are my rules only and you may agree or disagree with my choices as you will:) So here goes:-

  1. Laugh, giggle, chortle and smile. Life is fleeting; days, weeks, months and years will fly by. You won’t always notice them go but then your children will all be taller than you, they will become adults and you will wonder where all those little moments went. So, enjoy your life as much as you can.
  2. Adapt. You cannot control everything that happens in life. You can make as many plans as you like and have everything ‘worked out’ but that doesn’t mean that you will get what you want or expect. Make sure that you are flexible and open to change and the ideas of others. They might surprise you.
  3. Treat others as you wish to be treated. This may be seen as a cliche by some but it is a truth for me. Respect is something that can be given freely but you must then deserve it. If you treat people badly why would you be surprised that they don’t support you when you need it? Be kind to other people and you may get kindness in return. You don’t have to agree with everyone, you may in fact vehemently disagree. You don’t need to be submissive to anyone, we are all equal but you don’t have to undermine your own standards of behaviour.
  4. Try to do some good. Good comes in many forms, big and small. The small gestures are those that make people smile or feel cared for, the big ones may help many people.
  5. If you are lucky enough to love then let them know. This world is too short on affection not to let those you love that they are loved. Affection and touch are important. I am a tactile wee being and it is important to me that hugs are given and hands are held. Showing love when you feel it is an important rule for me……

So, a few of my rules. I hope they don’t seem too trite or twee, they are just part of me. I haven’t included the decent human behaviour ones, they are a given and I hope you see that they support those listed above:)

I don’t mind if you don’t like my choices and am sure you have many of your own that mean more to you. But these are some of my truths.

As always I will close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Children, Donating, Giving, Life, Twitter, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , .

Echoes…… TV, not reality!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


