Change……

October 17, 2010 at 11:15 pm Leave a comment

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

Today’s post is about change. I posted recently on my Rules for Life, one of my rules is to be adaptable. This got me thinking about change……

Change happens, fact. Sometimes we want it and promote it. Sometimes it is very disturbing. I have at times dreamt of change, sought it, embraced it. Other times I have wanted to stay in one blissful moment for the longest time. Alas, neither happens quite as we would always expect. That’s the thing about life isn’t it? You can’t control everything, you can only act the best way you can given the circumstances.

Of course, there are the day to day things we would like to change. I would like longer legs, I would love to be able to write full-time. Alas, my legs will remain as they are and I will dream of writing for a living. I hope that writing this blog will improve my writing and that will do me for now:)

Now to focus on change that is not welcome. There is a saying that most of us are only 3 paycheques from poverty. A scary thought, isn’t it? Imagine losing the familiar and comforting things; those you take for granted in the best possible way. Home comforts, they make us feel safe. What if this was taken away? It does happen, people sadly lose jobs, become ill, marriages fail. Many will manage through all of this but others will not fare so well. The unexpected is out there, it is waiting for us all in one way or another.

In these times I understand why everyone wants to prepare for the unexpected. Cuts are coming, jobs are disappearing and people feel insecure about now and the future. This makes many close down to the wider world and keep their eyes fixed on what is near and dear to them.

This is where I suggest that you make a donation to a children’s charity. I don’t suggest that anyone do something they can’t afford. You must take care of your own. But please consider this, charities are in the same position as the rest of us, they will be impacted by cuts and their revenues will be reduced. All donations help but in these times they become imperative. Many people don’t like charities as they are businesses. This is true and many charities have a high proportion of ‘administrative’ costs so choose your charity wisely. However, they also have the networks and infrastructures to make a difference to many. The choice is yours; I only hope that you will consider donating what and if you can. I hope that unwelcome change doesn’t knock on your door. I wish you all health and happiness and hope that you consider those who are not so fortunate…..

I close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Donating, Giving, Life, wheniwas8, Writing. Tags: , , , , , .

TV, not reality! Shhhhhhh, listen…….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


