Shhhhhhh, listen…….

October 19, 2010 at 9:56 pm Leave a comment

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

I have been thinking about my life and the lives of so many like me. I work, I have a family and a home to keep. My life is full of tasks and chores. I sometimes feel that I spend my time running to catch up! This is not a moan but an observation. So many people have such busy lives. Work, home, children, spending quality time, it all has to be planned in your head to stand any chance of ticking some off your list. I have now added this blog to my list. I am very conscious that this can take my time away from other areas of my home life so I am glad that I have support from my family. They know it means a great deal to me.

All of this rushing around got me thinking. Do we ever stand still and listen? Do our thoughts get any chance to come to the fore when we are so focused on doing? Do our loved ones feel that they have our attention, do we listen to what they mean as well as what they say? I worry that we consider ourselves so time-constrained that we decide what people want and then listen to our own voice instead of theirs. I know I do this, I wonder would you recognise this in yourself? There is one further point to consider – are we so concerned with using the ‘right’ words that we don’t strip our language back to the bare bones. We are so busy analysing that we don’t consider the message from the words we hear?

I may sound quite ranty today but none of this is meant harshly:) I just want us all to stop occasionally. Just listen. I love to listen to the wind blowing through the trees just beyond my garden. I also love the sound of water. These are soothing sounds to me, you may find solace in the buzz of traffic and passing conversations? It is at these times that your internal voice will get to be heard and it may have some truth to say about you and the messages you don’t hear from others. I know these truths are in our heads but they don’t always get the luxury of your time and reflection.

So, my plea to you today? This:-I hope you are glad when you do:) I close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Children, Donating, Life, wheniwas8, Writing. Tags: , , , , .

Change…… Buster – World Domination Dog!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


