Will You Buy an Extra Present?

December 2, 2010 at 9:54 pm Leave a comment

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

Christmas is fast creeping up on us. I was happily ensconced in August enjoying sunshine; next thing I know it is December and I haven’t thought about, planned, made a list for Christmas never mind buying any gifts! Oh dear, I will need to get moving…

I know that Christmas is not a time that everyone celebrates but there are holiday seasons for all of us so I will talk about mine. I love Christmas, always have done. It was a magical time for me as a child and when I had small children. Even though my children are now grown up I appreciate the season for the family gatherings. There is nothing better than spending time with your loved ones, particularly if you can find an old Jimmy Stewart movie. My two favourites are Harvey and, naturally, It’s a Wonderful Life. I will even admit to a sneaking enjoyment for the Sound of Music and the Great Escape even though I can probably recite the lines.

My family Christmases are lovely, I am lucky enough to be able to plan and shop for the holiday. I am also aware that not everyone is so fortunate. It was a reminder to me today when I saw the annual appeal in my office to gather presents for local families in need. My workplace collects for two local organisations every year. We are asked to provide what we can, food hampers, toys and gifts. There is always an appeal for gift tokens for teenagers as well. It is a fact that the very young are often considered first in this type of appeal but it is just as important to consider those heading towards adulthood. Teenagers can get a rough press but they are young and need support,  love and kindness as much as younger children. When you think of the gifts you will get is it not worth getting one of these for someone you don’t know?

There are lots of appeals like the one I will donate to. I hope that you will also do the same in your local area. One of the great joys for me is to buy gifts that I hope people will enjoy. A fairly recent one was buying Optimus Prime, transformer, for my son. My son is in his twenties but he liked the gift, a reminder of a favourite childhood collection. When I am doing my present shopping I will make sure to add one or two items that I can bring into work to help someone else have a Happy Christmas. I hope you do as well, isn’t it a truth that the joy is in the giving and not the receiving?

I wish everyone a Happy Christmas and Happy Holidays. I hope that you will rest, relax and laugh with friends and family. I also send my thoughts to those who will struggle this year and I hope that you will receive some unexpected cheer…….

I close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity. Donate a present to a family or child that will not have the holiday season that you might expect and plan for.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Childhood, Christmas, Donating, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , .

Chapter Two – The Colonel Chapter Three – Questions, Questions!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


