Me? Chatty? Never……

December 14, 2010 at 12:12 pm 2 comments

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

A slightly daft post from me today. I am awake very early and have logged on to the  blog and Twitter. I have reached a new Twitter milestone – 20,000 tweets. I conclude from this that I am either extremely wise and wish to share my wisdom with many others or I am as daft as a brush and chatty with it. Safe to say we all know the latter that is true.

I suppose I could be worried about reaching the 20k milestone. If I was able to run 20k many would think this a better use of my time. However, I beg to differ. Twitter is not an escape for me nor an antidote to anything. It is frustrating, supportive, laugh-out-loud funny, full of varying political opinion so I can see many viewpoints at once, educational, current and mad as a bag of spanners.

I have a busy life like most of us, there are always ‘things to do’ and I do get them done. I  have my lovely family, a fulfilling career and many interests outside the virtual world. On top of all of this I have Twitter and I will always make room for it. Twitter has enabled this blog to be a tiny wee success for me as my twitter friends are the majority of my readers. I am not a ‘top WordPress blog’, I don’t do politics, celebrity gossip and have only added one home-cooked recipe. I just write what I think and feel and now, some off-kilter fiction, the latter being something I wouldn’t have considered until I took blogthemes from my tweetpals and one was Star Wars, Unicorn and Platypus. When you are given that as a theme you can only write a story:)

I recently went to a tweetup in Derby, took a plane and everything! This was an implusive thing for me, not something I am known for. I am so glad I did it, it was the best fun with witty and kind people and I had a blast. The lovely @HumphreyCushion wrote a post that summed it all up for me – http://mshumphreycushion.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/how-was-it-for-you/. Do me a favour when reading the post, ignore all pics of me as, oh dear, I don’t photograph well. Either that or that’s what I look like? *Shivers*

There is now a Belfast tweetup being planned and I am so delighted that we already have a good list of people willing to travel to my neck of the woods. There will be a few locals as well and it will be a mighty good weekend…..

So, people who read this blog, consider twitter. You may regret it but I don’t think so. You get to chat, laugh and can be moved by the talent of people out there, giving out true wisdom in 140 characters or less. You also get to connect with your inner Frankie Howerd and that is a good thing! I will leave you with my latest Twitter avatar, a recent theme for the cold weather, the #hatandscarf look, I think it sums it up for me:-

I close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity. Donate a present to a family or child that will not have the holiday season that you might expect and plan for.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Children, Donating, Giving, Life, Twitter, wheniwas8, Writing. Tags: , , , , , , .

It is easy, if you can afford it…… Brrrrrr……..

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. iainmonty  |  December 14, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Hi Lesley, had to take some time to think about the question, are you chatty or not?

    After approximately 15 seconds careful consideration I decided you are….. lol

    I couldn’t agree more, Twitter is everything you want it to be and a few other things too. Especially when you take the chance and meet up in real life, as w all did in Derby.

    Can’t wait for the next chance to meet old friends and make new ones in Belfast.

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  December 14, 2010 at 11:45 pm

      Oh Iain,

      You really do know me well! Thank you for the comment, twitter is a thing of loveliness and I too am really looking forward to the Belfast tweetup:))))

      Take care,

      Lesley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


