Stuffed?

December 26, 2010 at 8:34 am 1 comment

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

So, are you all stuffed? Full of turkey, brussel sprouts and cranberry sauce? Did you pull crackers and tell daft jokes? Did you eat your fill of pudding and chocolate? I do hope so, I know I did! I hope that whatever you did on your Christmas Day you had the day you wanted. Some choose solitude, some choose small groups of friends and family, some go with crowds. All are good, whatever pleases you is what I hope you had. I also hope you received gifts that mean something to you. To me it isn’t the cost of a gift but the thought around it that matters the most. I like choosing gifts, I hate shopping but choosing something for someone else is fun.

It is now Boxing Day or St. Stephen’s day if you prefer. The clearing up will be finished and the leftovers nibbled. I love leftovers and will boil up turkey bones to make broth tomorrow, yummy. Then there is the finding space for all the gifts received. This makes me think I have too much stuff. I will therefore start a clearout, declutter, implement a minimalist strategy – I wish! I may not get everything just as I like it but I will make some room in the cupboards over the next few days. I will then recycle the bottles and those things I can now live without. I am sure you will all do the same so that someone else can benefit and even enjoy those possessions you can now live without. I love recycling, the notion that someone can use what has had its time with you is sensible, practical and helps others, why wouldn’t you want to do that?

At this time of year I start to think about resolutions as well. When asked I say I never make them but I do in my head. I will be nicer to people, kinder, fitter, thinner, work harder, travel more, get my life how I want it to be. All these thoughts run through my head now. I make too many resolutions in my head, will not succeed at them all but if I can achieve a couple then perhaps that will do:) One thing I do intend to do is keep going with this blog. I am amazed that so many people have written to me in only 10 months. It is heartening to see all the good that you do, you really are a wonderful lot.

So please, take this as my thank you to you from me. I could not do this without people and I am truly humbled that you take the time to read my words and tell me about the kindnesses you do. I know there is a lot of darkness in this world but you counteract that with your actions and words……..

Thank You!

I close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity. Donate a present to a family or child that will not have the holiday season that you might expect and plan for.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Children, Christmas, Cooking, Donating, Food, Giving, Life, Resolutions, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Brrrrrr…….. Quiet Time…….

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


