Post Christmas Blues? Bah Humbug…….

January 4, 2011 at 8:49 pm 2 comments

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

I went back to work today after almost 2 weeks of rest, lovely!. I have done like many of you. I have eaten too much chocolate, drunk too much wine and stayed up too late watching movies or cricket. I don’t regret any of it and judging by the number of times I had a wee doze I needed the rest:)

I have also tried to blog more than normal so that I can prompt people to write to me. This was fun for me. Although I am back at work I am going to blog more than I did before the Christmas break. I may ask my Twitter pals for more themes to blog on; they can be relied on to give me interesting and daft ideas.

That is the thing about blogging on a very specific topic, if I bore myself then what am I doing to everyone else? So, I will put out a request soon and see what kind of nonsense I can come up with. The thought of this makes me happy, I do love a challenge. The last time I asked Twitter peeps to give me suggestions I blogged on topics as diverse as Diamonds and Star Wars, Unicorn and Platypus. It taxed me, that is true but isn’t it better to have ideas from many people than just one?

I will therefore make sure that I don’t let the post holiday blues get me. I will be positive. I will blog and I will ask you all to write to me. I do have one little ambition for the blog. If we could have £5000 of donations by the time I reach my blogiversary (if it isn’t a word it should be) in April 2011. I hope you don’t think that is too much to ask, it is good to have something to strive for and I am happy to strive:)

So please, get me thinking! Feel free to suggest a new topic for me on this blog; I will be delighted to do my best for you. Wouldn’t you like to give me a challenge? I am up for it if you are:)

I close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity. Donate a present to a family or child that will not have the holiday season that you might expect and plan for.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Childhood, Children, Christmas, Giving, Life, Twitter, wheniwas8, Writing. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Happy New Year from Me to You! Water……

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ivanjelical  |  January 4, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    WordPress have a daily/weekly blog challenge and they post topic ideas everyday, which may be worth looking at.
    How the NI water problems are affecting people would be interesting, and believe it or not NI water rates was a topic of conversation at Sunday #twunch with Humph, Feisty and the gang!

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  January 4, 2011 at 9:05 pm

      Hi Neill,

      Yes, I have read a few of the daily blog challenges and that is what prompted to ask peeps for topics again. I would love to have been a fly on the wall on the NI water problems at Sunday #twunch.

      Water is a good topic and will be added to the list; we take it for granted so much that we have facilities!

      Thanks lovely,

      Lesley xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


