Opinionated?

January 22, 2011 at 11:53 am 6 comments

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

I was, as usual, on Twitter this week. Anyone who has read this blog will know that Twitter is my favourite social medium. People chat in their 140 character limit. I am constantly amazed at the amount of humour, sarcasm, fact, kindess and even venom imparted in one tweet. You can of course use various tools to do longer tweets but most people make an effort to stick to the ‘limits’.

I do have accounts on other social networking sites such as Facebook and Linkedin but I always move back to Twitter. I think it is the immediacy that attracts me. Twitter is always scrolling, always moving. You can pop in and out, join conversations as they happen before the mood moves on to another thread, another subject that will make one person laugh and another shriek.

I do follow people who are not ‘backward in coming forward’. Strong opinions are forcibly expressed, sometimes to reinforce a point but sometimes to stir things up. The latter can appear very emotional, blunt, even offensive. If you don’t like strong language then you wouldn’t want to follow all those I follow. It can be tough to see some of the conversations when people you like and admire are caught up in an intense and insulting battle. I have occasionally logged out when it gets too personal; I am obviously a total wuss:)

I hold very strong opinions too but I don’t always share them. For all that I am extremely chatty on Twitter I am reserved and often keep my opinions to myself. This is not because I’m a mouse who considers her opinions worthless, I prefer persuasion to confrontation. There is also the theme of this blog to consider, if you are looking for kindness in others then persuasion is the better way. However, I do wonder if I should change? Should I give it a bit of welly on Twitter? Should I let rip, swear and insult all those around me? Perhaps I will find it liberating and will turn into an ‘in yer face’ old broad? That might be fun, let’s see if I have the chutzpah…..

I close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity. Donate a present to a family or child that will not have the holiday season that you might expect and plan for.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, Giving, Life, Opinion, Social Media, Twitter, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The Worst Monday? Milestones?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Iain M Cooke  |  January 22, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Go on Lesley, give em some welly! lol xx

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  January 22, 2011 at 3:51 pm

      There is only one problem with that Iain. I do have the foulest temper ever (this comment has been ratified by all who have witnessed it). I only lose it completely once every few years but I am informed that I am scary:) Not sure the Twotter is ready for that!

      Lesley xxx

      Reply
  • […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ronnie, Lesley Miller. Lesley Miller said: What do you reckon twots, should Almost turn nasty???? http://wp.me/pSrdG-k7 Morning:) […]

    Reply
  • 4. @LadyMaryan  |  January 22, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    Dear Lesley,

    there’s nothing wrong with expressing your opinion, more or less bluntly, but imho this is possible without constantly using f- and c-words. By using them in every second tweet, they kind of lose their force.

    So, why not tell your opinions right into our faces? I for one would be interested in reading them. I know that you’ve got quite differentiated means to express yourself, so that we will know what you mean anyway, even without f and c.

    Of course, that’s only my opinion, but you asked. 🙂

    Have a lovely weekend

    Maryan xx

    Reply
    • 5. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  January 22, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      Hi Maryan,

      I will confess to being very good at certain words when speaking but cannot bring myself to use them in writing. Don’t worry, I am not afraid to express my opinions where I think it really matters:)

      One thing I don’t have is a need for everyone to agree with me, never have. I think that is my main driver here, I love to see lots of differing opinions but don’t feel the need to ‘convert’ anyone to mine…..

      I like your opinion so thank you for visiting and giving it to me!

      I hope your weekend is lovely too:)

      Lesley xx

      Reply
      • 6. @LadyMaryan  |  January 22, 2011 at 4:53 pm

        To have different opinions and to argue is not the same. The diversity of views is the spice in social life, on Twitter as well as face-to-face, isn’t it?

        I also don’t need to ‘convert’ everyone because that would mean that my opinion is the only correct one.

        So far my weekend has been relaxing, but the weather is rainy and cold.

        Claudia xx

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


