Milestones?

January 28, 2011 at 12:39 am 5 comments

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

Life is full of milestones. People, me included, tend to measure their lives by these milestones. Birthdays, anniversaries of significant events, are celebrated or mourned in equal measure. I am hitting a large milestone this year, I leave my forties behind and enter my fifties. Age doesn’t bother me, it never has. Although I have one confession. There was one age that rather rattled me, 42. I know it seems an odd age to get a little freaked by. I can only say that the Hitchhikers Guide to the Universe is to blame. It stated emphatically that the answer to life, the universe and everything is 42. My dotty mind interpreted that as 42 is the age when you should be a ‘proper’ grown-up. Nasty, who wants to be a proper grown-up? Not me for sure:)

I know you cannot halt the ageing process even if you choose the road of injections and surgery, one road I will not take. This doesn’t mean I will age gracefully, there is no chance of that. I will continue on my bonkers way through life, it has served me well so far. However, reaching this milestone has allowed me to pause and ponder. What do I want in my world? I will share a few of my wishes with you. It may be my age turning me into a grumpy old woman but these are important to me:-

  • Respect, a small word with big meaning. Why don’t we show more respect for others? I believe you should treat others as you wish to be treated and know so many others who feel the same. Wouldn’t the world be a better place if there was less focus on making others see one viewpoint?
  • Peace. I know this one is to much to ask but this is my list and I will continue to wish for a peaceful world, even if it does make me think of Miss Congeniality.
  • Laughter. I know life can be tough a lot of the time. I would never diminish the difficulties that some face. However, when there is a chance to laugh then take it, it lightens the load.
  • Little things. Little words and actions stay with people. It is the small kindnesses and small slights that folk will remember. Why not make your world full of small kindnesses. I have been truly touched this week by those who were kind to me as I hit the ‘big’ birthday. All the messages and gifts have made me smile.
  • Know yourself. This is a hard one! We all want to think well of ourselves while conversely blaming ourselves for many things. I try to know who I am and be content with what I find. I hope I am not too generous about my good points. I hope I am not too hard on myself for my flaws but I will always try to understand what drives me. I don’t think any of us will ever be the ‘finished article’ we want to be but as long as we keep striving we will do our best.
  • Everyone should eat Maltesers!

That will do for now. This could be a very long list but I will save some for another day:)

I close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity. Donate a present to a family or child that will not have the holiday season that you might expect and plan for.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Childhood, Children, Donating, Giving, Life, Opinion, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Opinionated? So, where is my Saga Magazine?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Neill  |  January 29, 2011 at 12:22 am

    3 years to go for me. I shall just bimble on and hope for good health.Great post again.

    Reply
  • 3. Iain Montgomery  |  January 29, 2011 at 12:22 am

    Now what you do is, at your 40th birthday, start counting backwards. So you and I are both 30 now. 🙂

    Even for a *big* birthday, you are generous and thinking of others.

    I know that your friends are all thinking of you , and some of us are looking forward to letting you know in real-time later.

    Hope your official birthday goes well tomorrow too.

    PS the question was “what do you get when you multiply 6 by 9”, so you don’t need to worry about being grown up by any magic number.

    Reply
    • 4. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  January 29, 2011 at 12:37 am

      Oh Iain,

      What a kind comment! Thank you so much….

      I am looking forward to seeing my friends at the party this weekend and looking forward to seeing you and the others soon. It is lovely to have things to look forward to! No age will ever really worry me I am glad to say.

      You take care,

      Lesley xxx

      Reply
  • […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lesley Miller and Iain Montgomery, Lesley Miller. Lesley Miller said: Milestones? These are my borthday wishes:) http://wp.me/pSrdG-kp […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


