Just the Facts Ma’am

February 12, 2011 at 11:42 am 1 comment

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

I have been blogging for 10 months now. Every now and then I like to question myself about my motives for doing this blog. It is fairly obvious that I don’t want money but I do want you to give a little of your cash away. I don’t do it for publicity, what would I want that for? I don’t want an alternate career, I am busy enough with the one I have. When I ask myself why I come up with the only reason, children. In the world today children are harmed by others, they are ill, they haven’t enough food, clean water can be nigh-impossible to find, there are wars and diseases that will stop children growing and thriving with happiness and joy in their lives. I think this is reason enough but I thought today I would share a few statistics with you. This is harsh, I know this but sometimes we have to look harsh in the eye, don’t we?

This is a sample of the statistics you can find relating to children, please take a look and perhaps you will understand:-

  • It is estimated that 2.5 million children were living with Aids in 2009 with 260,000 child-deaths from Aids and 370,000 new cases diagnosed in the same year. The trend doesn’t look good does it?
  • Under and malnutrition. It is estimated that one third of deaths of children under 5 years old is under-nutrition. Use your imagination for a moment; how must it feel to be small and hungry all the time when you are too young to understand all the reasons. You just know you are hungry and miserable all the time. It sounds condescending for me to say that this upsets me but it does.
  • Poor water and sanitation – it is estimated that there are 4 billion cases of diarrhoea per year causing 2.2 million deaths, mostly among children under five. There are also figures available for the impacts of intestinal worms, trachoma, schistosomiasis and other diseases such as cholera.
  • There is an estimate that in the last decade 10 million children may have been traumatised by war. Have you ever been truly scared? Most of us only live with fleeting moments of fear, why don’t you take one minute and imagine living with constant fear. The damage that causes makes my head spin. Why is this world so consumed by hate and war? What real purpose does it serve? Yes, I know the arguments that war can be justified for the greater good. I understand why wars can start to save people but have you seen any short-lived wars in modern times? Children can be collateral, cruelty a by-product. I do not claim to have any answers here but I do challenge Governments to think in terms of people and not regimes or land when they decide the right thing to do is ‘save’ a country.
  • I did some research on recorded crime statistics available from the UK Home Office. Between 2002 and 2009 there were over 37 thousand cases of cruelty to and neglect of children, 271 cases of abandonment of a child under 2 and over 5,500 reported cases of child abduction. These are the reported figures only. A spreadsheet is only numbers, it doesn’t talk about the impact to children and their families. I don’t want to imagine what actually happened, I am too cowardly but those are big numbers.

I hope this gives you some insight into why I do what I do.

I close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity. Donate a present to a family or child that will not have the holiday season that you might expect and plan for.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Childhood, Children, Donating, Giving, Life, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , .

So, where is my Saga Magazine? Valentines Day? Purrrlease!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Most Recent Posts


