What in the World?

March 5, 2011 at 12:03 am Leave a comment

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

I have been looking at the major news stories over the last few months. With rare exceptions they are depressing. I list a few from the recent headlines:-

  • Natural disasters. Whether it be the earthquake in Christchurch, Brazilian mudslides or floods in Australia, it feels as if nature is giving us one of those nudges that mean don’t assume you can best me, I am all-powerful nature. Man assumes that brains are the answer to everything, current events belie that arrogance.
  • Revolution? Oh my, the events in Egypt and Libya over recent weeks have been rather mind-blowing, haven’t they? It is as if a new wind is blowing in and making people want more freedoms and fairness. I admire those who take a stand against dictatorships but I worry about the response from the Governments concerned. Those who feel they must take action for change can also place themselves in great danger but they must feel that the potential sacrifice is worth it. I am not sure I am brave enough so applaud them.
  • From disaster and revolution to the downright ridiculous? We see Charlie Sheen tweeting and he breaks the record for reaching a million followers in the fastest time. I don’t judge, will confess to having had a look at his tweets and even replied to one in jest. I do follow some celebs but admit I don’t spend much time checking them, I prefer to talk to real people on twitter. Real people are funny, outrageous and generally kind. I was at my second tweetup last weekend and we had a blast in #Twelfast, aka a tweetup in Belfast.  This I recommend, I am sorry Mr Sheen but I don’t recommend you.

So, what is the world coming to? Honestly, I think the world is all that it ever was. Nature will subdue us, people will rise up (and I hope succeed) and there will always be some bonkers that people will be diverted by. The world is a scary, impressive and eejit place and I love it. I will always hope for peace and a little bit of daft to make us smile but I will think of those who are victims of nature or authoritarian regimes.

I close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity. Donate a present to a family or child that will not have the holiday season that you might expect and plan for.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Childhood, Children, Donating, Giving, Life, Twitter, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , .

Sheep! What in the World? Part 2.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


