Chortles!

April 10, 2011 at 10:03 pm 2 comments

I blog to get people to donate to kid’s charities. I don’t want money, I want you to donate direct to a children’s charity then write to me by commenting on the blog. Please read the ‘About Lesley’ section of the blog to find out why I do this; the Comments and Running Totals pages to see how far we have come….

My posts of late have been very serious so I thought it was time to do daft again. People need to laugh and smile, it is important for us all to laugh. They say that laughter is good for you; this I agree with, life would be very dull without laughter. I like to laugh, those who have met me know this is true. Laughter for me is one of the best medicines. With this in mind I am going to share a couple of ‘Oirish’ jokes recently told to me as they made me laugh. As I am from Norn Iron this gives me license to tell ‘Paddy’ jokes. We know how to laugh at ourselves in Norn Iron, we prefer to be laughed with than laughed at. So, please read and enjoy. If they don’t make you laugh I am sorry but they made me giggle!

Paddy and Mick driving through the country. Mick says to Paddy, ‘Look at the size of that flock of cows Paddy’. Paddy says, ‘Herd of cows Mick’. Mick responds, ‘Of course I’ve heard of cows Mick, there’s a flock of them over there!’.

Paddy walks into a bar and orders 3 pints of Guinness. The barman pours the pints and Paddy takes them to a quiet table. He takes a sip from each pint in turn until they are finished. He repeats the order again and sips from each of the three pints in turn until they are done. He goes back up to the barman who says, ‘Paddy, you know that Guinness doesn’t stand too well. Are you sure you don’t want me to pour you one pint at a time, it would be much better’. Paddy replies, ‘Ah no, I do this for my brothers. I have two brothers, one in Australia and one in America. Before they left home we promised each other that we would always drink our Guinness this way so that we would remember each other’. Then one day Paddy came into the bar and ordered two pints of Guinness. He sat at the table and sipped from each pint in turn until they were done. He went up to the bar and again ordered two pints. The barman said, ‘Paddy, I can only assume something has happened to one of your  brothers. Let me say how sorry I am’. Paddy replies, ‘Ah no, sure I’m off the drink for Lent’.

I can only apologise for this post but I do hope it makes you smile, if only a little?

I close with my normal request to you:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice. It is easy to do – online, collection boxes, Give as You Earn. Any amount is important and I am delighted for one pound, dollar, euro, yen to reach a charity. Donate a present to a family or child that will not have the holiday season that you might expect and plan for.
  • Visit this blog and comment anywhere with the charity, amount including currency and please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I love the stories of childish ambitions.

I will then:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • All comments will be stored on the comments page so that you can see what charities people are interested in and also what a variety of 8-year-old ambitions we have already. I am looking forward to way more surprises from you all.

The steps are simple. Again, if you like the idea please tell others so that they will come and tell me their stories.

Take care of you and yours.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, Giving, Laughter, Life, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , .

Though Sticks and Stones? Lesley Does Random…..

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Most Recent Posts


