Somalia

June 28, 2011 at 11:14 pm Leave a comment

I blogged yesterday about my intention to keep this blog for a more serious purpose and to keep to my original aims, to persuade you all to help children. The next step is the serious blogging.

With this in mind I had a look at new stories, local and international. There was one story that caught my eye, Somalia and the flood of refugees arriving in Kenya. Somalia has suffered from civil war for the last 20 years. This is now exacerbated by a severe drought meaning those already in need are fleeing to Kenya as their last hope. Latest reports from Save the Children say up to 1300 people are arriving on a daily basis, of which 800 plus are children.  When dealing with such numbers I try to get some context by imagining a sports stadium full of people. If I assume a stadium with room for 40,000 people it would take about one month to fill with a daily influx of 1300 people. That is staggering, I wonder how one refugee camp can cope with this? The reports say it is organised to cope with under 100,000 people but is currently trying to manage with three and a half times this level.

Living with conflict is damaging. I know this on a small level as I was born and live in Northern Ireland, we had conflict for 30 plus years. I grew up in these years and it was a strange world. I had a normal life by Northern Ireland standards. Nevertheless, most people don’t see getting searched before shopping or seeing news-stories about those maimed or killed on that day’s violence as normal. However, most of us didn’t grow up with the added ravages of hunger and thirst. It is a unreal world having conflict in a first-world society; it must be a running nightmare to grow up, if you do get to grow up, in a third-world society with war and starvation. I try to imagine the constant fear but it is too hard.

Considering this, don’t you want to help Save the Children?

I close with this:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are old enough.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Children, Donating, Giving, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , .

Blog Guilt? News Confusion.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts


