Imagine.

August 1, 2011 at 10:55 pm 4 comments

Today was and still is Monday. After a couple of domestic disasters last week, exploding shower causing flooding in the kitchen, I felt that the weekend had been far too short. I woke this morning and wanted to just turn over and dream for a little longer. Needless to say I got up and went to work.

It was that kind of day though. You know the kind I mean? I did all the things I needed to and prepared for a busy today tomorrow. I then came home and was, quite simply, grumpy and tired. It took me ages to gee myself up to do a few bits and bobs round the house.

Then I did what I do every day at the moment. I went to the BBC news site for Africa.If you ever want to stop a pity-party then that is the cure. They say if you want to understand someone else’s life then walk a mile in their shoes, I will briefly try.

My alarm wakens me in the morning. My family are all sleeping peacefully at this time, just after 6am. I like to lie there for a minute or two and listen to the birds singing in the trees behind my house. I then quietly slip out of bed. I have about 40 minutes of precious time on my own to shower and get ready. It really is one of my favourite parts of the day once I have recovered from the shock of waking. I love the quiet, no talking, just me and my thoughts.

So, if I was a mother in Dadaab, what would my morning be like? The heat would start to rise as dawn breaks and the noise starts to build. The smell I imagine would be harsh, a camp built for less than 100,000 people with over 300,000 in place would struggle with sanitation; it would have to be extended and extended to cope with the numbers. Thoughts of disease such as cholera and diarrhoea would then strike you, how to protect your children from this? I imagine that would be a constant thread of fear in my head.

But the worst part I can imagine? The sounds of children. Hungry and distressed babies have a very unique cry, it sounds hoarse and from the back of the throat. I know the sound from when my children were ill for, thankfully, short periods. It is the most heart-rending sound I know, guttural and primal. You know the sound I mean.

Next time I want to have myself a pity-party I will remind myself of this post.

I close with this:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are old enough.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Childhood, Children, Dadaab, Donating, Drought, Famine, Giving, News, Somalia, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

How Much More News Can We Take? Riots, eh?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erynsmum  |  August 2, 2011 at 8:00 am

    What a wake up call, Thank you!
    I am ashamed to admit that I moaned last week that my 5mth old was waking me up at 6am and I was tired but now I thank my lucky stars that she is warm, clean and fed!
    Thank you for opening my eyes to this, I will not be moaning about things in future!

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 2, 2011 at 9:58 am

      Morning Marie,

      I remember those days only too well. There were a long time ago now but still linger in the memory as I am very fond of my sleep. Thank you for taking the time to comment on the blog; I do appreciate anyone who reads and writes to me. I am very glad you understand what prompted me to tell myself off:)

      Take care of you and your adorable baby!

      Lesley xx

      Reply
  • 3. Tweet_mouse  |  August 2, 2011 at 7:52 am

    Whan an excellent, thought provoking blog entry. We really do not know how lucky we are and we take so much for granted.

    Reply
    • 4. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  August 2, 2011 at 9:59 am

      Morning Tweet_Mouse,

      Thank you. I am glad that my blogs provoke thought and agree that we do take lots for granted. I wouldn’t wish what we have away from us, I just wish that so many others had the same.

      Take care,

      Lesley xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


