Relaxation….

August 28, 2011 at 11:36 am 2 comments

I will be heading off today for a week in the sun. I have packed many books but no laptop or iPad, I will be techno-free. There is no doubt that I will miss my virtual life, I am very fond of it. I admit my techo-addiction, I am currently logged into Twitter, Facebook and Google Plus. I am not sure what this makes me, I wonder what those who only inhabit the real world think of people like me. There are many of us out there, we live a mix of real and virtual and love both. I also find my online world informative and laugh-out-loud funny. People also aren’t afraid to challenge each other on beliefs, politics and the best sauce for a bacon butty (brown since you ask).

One other thing that my social media roundabout does is make me think. When we read and watch the news it tends towards the dark and dire but I do get balance from the kindness I see generated on social media. Yes, there are arguments but if you have a bad day someone will always try to cheer you up and send you ((hugs)). There are many good people out there who send out support for charities, raise money and think of new and inventive ways to raise awareness for their favourite causes. This I will miss, I think those who believe social media is only a tool for cruelty and arranging riots would do well to browse a little and see for themselves.

So, I am looking forward to a rest with no work, driving, cooking or cleaning. I will miss my virtual life but I think it can stand a week without my company. I will read and watch news when I am away, one thing I will not give up at any time. I want to see what is happening in the Horn of Africa and the progress towards peace in Tripoli. I am aware of the irony that I seek the sun while those in Africa pray for rain.

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are old enough.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Africa, Children, Dadaab, Donating, Drought, Famine, Giving, Life, News, Twitter, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

What is News Exactly? Happy Resting Mr Jobs? Where Were You?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. iainmonty  |  August 28, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    And many in the virual world also benefit from your kindnesses and thoughtfulness.

    Enjoy your break Lesley, you deserve it.

    *see* you soon. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Neill  |  August 28, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Red!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


