It’s My Birthday And I’ll Cry If I Want to!

January 25, 2012 at 11:12 pm 2 comments

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

Quick Post Time! You know I am not crying but I always loved that song:)

Tis my birthday but I am beyond the time when I should be counting the numbers. Age doesn’t bother me, why be bothered about an inevitable act plus I don’t fancy the alternative for a few decades yet. However, since it is my birthday shouldn’t I be able to make a wish? Why not I say….

My wish is simple. I want you to put a pound, a dollar, a euro in a charity collection box tomorrow. I don’ t ask you to write to me on this, this is merely for you. Make note of the wish though. I say collection box on purpose. Those boxes are everywhere you know, we just don’t see them. They sit beside the tills of small local shops; they stand, a little woebegone in shopping centres. Do you think we blank them out? Are they so part of the landscape that they are invisible?

It seems to me the big charities focus on advertising to generate regular monthly donations so that they can map out a revenue stream. This, along with their drives for sponsored walks and marathons is a great way to bring in money and I am sure this is cost-effective for them. My birthday wish is not for them, today I think the smaller charities are the ones that need a lift today.

Consider this an act of random generosity as well as a random act of kindess to me. You may think me selfish but I think you will enjoy doing it as much as I love the thought of it…….

So, please don’t write to me, just drop a few pennies and make that satisfying *clink* in the collection box.

Thank you,

Lesley

Entry filed under: Charity, Donating, Giving, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , .

Hackneyed! Bile, Invective, Vitriol.

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


