Bile, Invective, Vitriol.

February 5, 2012 at 10:56 am Leave a comment

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page and read the instructions at the end of this post…..

I  have been reading random blogs over the last couple of weeks. Most of them have been educational, people wanting to share their knowledge on cooking, knitting, books, films, any topic of interest. I also read many funny posts, there are so many smart and witty people out there. Then I moved to more ‘opinionated’ posts and they have a different nature altogether…..

The thing about bloggers is that they have no filter except themselves. No sub-editor will check the words to ensure that there is nothing libellous or offensive therein. The words are written, they may be proof-read by the writer. Then they are sent out there, one person’s opinion into that cyber-void.

This is a good thing and a bad thing. The good? Blogging is a personal thing, it is one person sending their opinions and knowledge out there for all to see. It encourages people to be creative, develop their writing skills and share something with all those who choose to read. The bad? It is one person’s opinion without check. If an individual chooses to lie they can. I don’t suggest for a second that many bloggers do this; I think most people who choose words as their medium are very consious of the joys and danger of doing this. However, everyone’s perspective is different. They say that six witnesses to a crime can provide six different descriptions of a suspect. Isn’t it just the same with opinion? Two people will see a situation in very different ways. I think we only need look at the reactions of politicians to, for instance, the cost of education, to understand that is possible. Just read the comments sections of some of the popular political blogs and this will be perfectly illustrated.

This is the way of the virtual world and I accept that. We can’t plunge into the water and not expect some sharks to circle. What concerns me is how easily it can turn, how it can become personal. I have written before about the power of words; I am fascinated by the skill of those who can put words together to capture our interest and even our hearts. What I don’t enjoy is the attack-blog as I tend to think of them. They can come from a need to defend against words already out there from another individual. I understand the need to defend one’s position and portray a balance, this is only fair isn’t it? Yes ‘but’ is my answer. The style becomes crucial when taking this action. Surely words are more effective when calmly and factually put? Reason will persuade more than rant I think. When bloggers react to the emotional words of one person with more emotional words it will easily spiral into tit-for-tat. I don’t think that is how most bloggers want to see themselves. Bloggers write because they want readers, fact. For me this means there is an inherent responsibility associated with blogging. If you blog you want to influence, isn’t it your responsibility to make sure this influence is used in a benign way? Persuade by all means but persuade truthfully and without attack on those who don’t share your opinion.

I am not saying that blogs should be cold and emotionless, that would make the blogsphere a very dull and uninteresting place. I want to see love and anger coming out from the words I read. I love getting goosebumps from reading words that come from the heart, this makes me smile. What I will never enjoy is the name-calling and singular perspective that one person is always right and another wrong, the world is shades of grey…….

I close, as always, with this:-
  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Donating, Giving, wheniwas8, words, Writing. Tags: , , , , , .

It’s My Birthday And I’ll Cry If I Want to! Disappointments?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Most Recent Posts


