Having It All?

February 20, 2012 at 11:39 pm Leave a comment

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

Chop, chop, busy, busy, work, work, bang, bang. Anyone remember the BT advert with industrious penguins of many years ago? Sometimes life feels like this, I’m sure many of you feel the same.

I am going through a busy time at the moment and am planning changes to my work patterns. I have good reason for doing this, I will get some time during the day to assist family members. It is a conscious decision made after much mulling and wondering how to fit everything in. I have been puzzling how I can do it all for some time now and I hope this will be the answer, many thanks are also due to those at my work who have helped facilitate this.

As I  have been putting the wheels in motion for the change I have been thinking about this ‘having it all’ I keep hearing about. I have worked pretty much all my adult life and for this I am grateful. I have had periods of unemployment in my youth and found it intensely frustrating, mainly due to the lack of funds due to lack of job. I like working, like to use my brain. There are many who would find my job uninspiring as it is a management role but dealing with people and situations is meat and drink to me.

I have talked before about being a working mother. The term would be more loosely applied now as all my children are grown. However, while I still have offspring in the house this still seems (slightly?) appropriate. I will miss it when they are all gone so do try to cherish this time. Well, most of the time…….. *Warning, ranty bit starts now*….

Who said we had to have it all? I want to know as I am very tempted to question their sanity. Did the creator of this cliché know what trouble they would cause? Do they know how many working parents are cream-crackered at any given point of the day?

I have ‘had it all’ for all my adult life. I have cooked, cleaned, ironed and worked my way through the last thirty-odd years. Don’t get me wrong, I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to do all this and I would not change the children I adore and the work I do. Everyone has things they would like to change or have more control over, I am no different. However, I am not a great believer in regrets, the things I have done in life I have chosen positively and that is all I can ask of myself.

One thing I could do without. Housework. I do it, am even good at it but it was, is and will always be a chore. I know there are people out there who enjoy it. FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT IS GOOD WHY? Why would you like spraying and scrubbing and polishing and mopping and vacuuming and all the rest of it? I just don’t get it. I do love the end result and yes, admit to a sense of satisfaction when it is all done and I sit down with a cuppa in a sparkling house. That feeling is fleeting however; between untidy kids and two dogs who live to traipse muck across floors the tidy is a temporary blip. My favourite quote on housework would never be from the original Superwoman, Shirley Conran, it would always be from that wise woman Phylis Diller – Housework can’t kill you, but why take a chance?

There is one thing I would like to have just for me. Quiet time. I do get this from blogging if that doesn’t sound strange; me and my thoughts tapping the keys. And therein lies my cure for the housework blues. When I blog I am thinking about those who have much more to struggle against than me. This kicks my lazy bum back to reality. My life may be busy but I am fortunate in many ways and should not lose sight of that….

So, I will continue to use this with a very sour face but will remember to count my blessings too.

Take it Away!!

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Children, Donating, Giving, Life, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , .

When I Don’t Want to Write…… So, Which Type Are You?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Most Recent Posts


