So, Which Type Are You?

February 26, 2012 at 10:52 pm 2 comments

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

It is a quiet Sunday evening and I have done all I intend to do for this day. I am meandering through the virtual universe, reading some blogs and dipping to and out of social media sites.

I find myself intrigued by the different types who tweet, blog and post on Facebook, Google Plus, Linkedin etc. I find it interesting that there are, to my mind, some very defined categories of social media users. I have of course made a list. This is not a serious analysis of social media by any means, this is just my own little definition:-

1. The Politico.

The Politico is not a politician but a person who likes to put their political opinion out there. Be they left, right, centrist or multi-coloured swap shop they will be telling you what is right, fighting with those who disagree and happily agreeing and reinforcing the opinions of those they agree with. For me they provide education in alternative viewpoint but occasionally my jaw drops when I read something that seems alien to me. The debates can get heated and even quite nasty but I still enjoy reading it most of the time. If I am not grown-up enough to see opinions that differ from mine then I ain’t old enough to be on social media.

2. The Campaigner

The Campaigner is perhaps one of the categories I fit into when you think about the reason I blog but I have multiple traits. The Campaigner works, often quite tirelessly, to promote a cause or causes dear to their heart. This can be charitable, business, technology, lifestyle. They are different from the politicos in that they don’t necessarily want to convert you to their cause but instead raise awareness and understanding of the same. They will try to persuade rather than cajole and are always charming in their thanks when you show your support,

3. The Provoker

You have to love  The Provoker. They are such fun if you can take the pace! The Provoker will stir things up simply to get a reaction. One day they will support blues, the next reds simply to wind up the reds and blues. Some of the reds and blues do get rankled but I think the Provokers have a very necessary function, they challenge. They can be confusing but make you laugh and make you think.

4. The Humourists

The Humourists can have a lot in common with the Provokers as they will burst the bubbles of those they perceive as pompous. However, their focus is on laughter and making people smile. The humour can get near the knuckle but most of us are old enough to take it; if we can’t we are certainly old enough not to click the links?

5. The Lurkers

We all fit into this category sometimes. There are times when we read and don’t interact, when we just aren’t in the mood. Some are permanent Lurkers though; I confess I could never be one, I love to talk in case you hadn’t noticed.

6. The Ranter

Some would say I am repeating myself here and the the Ranter is a copy of the Provoker. Not in my social media world. The Ranter is the Mr or Mrs Angry of the virtual world. They may be provoking but not to stimulate thought, they want to stimulate rage. You have to be brave to take them on.

7. The Amuse Bouche

Perhaps an odd category but I have a large soft spot for the Amuse Bouche. They are the random thoughts of the social media world. They may be quiet for long spells but when they are in the mood their bon mots will have you in stitches. They are not Humourists as they are not joke-tellers, they are observers of life and its nonsenses.

8. The Eejits

I probably most closely identify with this category as I am happy to admit my inner and outer Eejit. We Eejits want to chat, spin daft tales and simply enjoy ourselves. We are serious as well but often we stray into the bonkers where *chortles* await. Social media is a place for fun too and we should not forget this.

I suspect that at times we all fit into the categories above but wonder, where do you think you belong?

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Donating, Giving, Google +, Humour, Life, Linkedin, Social Media, Twitter, wheniwas8, WordPress. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Having It All? Good Days, Bad Days……

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Most Recent Posts


