Good Days, Bad Days……

March 1, 2012 at 12:14 am 2 comments

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

Not a grumpy post but a grumpy day. I have recently blogged about lots going on and that is still true. I have had some long days and am tired. Changes are planned which I hope will give me more time to help some people in my life and I look forward to having that time. In the meantime I will charge about doing what I can to keep all the balls in the air. I don’t want sympathy, I just want to get everything organised so I will feel more in control. Anal eh? 🙂

I try not to get stressed on a day-to-day basis, I am more of a deep breath and move on kind of person. It isn’t so much stoicism as knowing what needs done, putting your head down and getting on with it. When faced with a mountain of things to do I like to ignore the mountain and just take one boulder chip and deal with it. There are times, however, when the mountain looms over you and you sit it its shadow wondering if it would be easier to simply walk away and ignore all of it. You wonder about it but instead you knuckle down and get on with it. I will have less of that self pity!

How do I get out of a funk like this? This may sound slightly weird but I am weird. Here goes……

How I move on is easy. This is not counting my blessings, this is taking a long, hard look at me and telling myself what I know to be true:-

  • I have a comfortable home
  • I am fortunate to have a good job
  • I have three healthy children (who drive me nuts but you cannot expect perfection)
  • I have enough food on my table
  • I have heat when I need it
  • I have water on tap
  • I have friends to call on in difficult times. They will listen to my babble and comfort me when I need it
  • I know who I am
  • I do not live in fear
  • I am loved

So many people do not have this. So many children will not have a future like this. This I consider every day and it makes my heart break. When I look at me this way how can one virtual mountain scare me?

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Blogging, Charity, Children, Donating, Giving, Life, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , .

So, Which Type Are You? How Do We Deal With This?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ladymaryan  |  March 1, 2012 at 10:14 pm

    Dear Lesley,

    change is always challenging. I’m sure, you’ll manage well and when you are able to look at the good things in your life, even after a “grumpy” day, you are on the best way possible. We should all do that, instead of mulling over the things we can’t have or which are not ideal in our lives.

    Claudia xx

    Reply
    • 2. when i was 8 i wanted to be....  |  March 1, 2012 at 11:35 pm

      Oh lovely, I do hope so.

      Glad to see you! I was thinking of you today, wondering how you are. I know you are busy, hope things are going well:)

      Lesley x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


