Give Me a Break!

April 6, 2012 at 4:13 pm 2 comments

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

No work for me today. In fact, no work for me for five whole days. I am tired and looking forward to the break. I would say rest but I am off to Glasgow this evening for a tweetup! It will be lovely to see many friends I have met before and a few new faces too:)

I need a break for other reasons too. Like most of us I am faced with the daily grind, driving to work, working, driving home, helping with dinner and the tidy-up and then collapsing on the sofa before I start all over again the next day. Weekends are a blur of housework and trying to catch up with friends and family. I owe too many people phone calls, am behind on all the projects I should be doing. When did life get so busy? Are we all like this? I am a strange mixture these days; small bursts of frantic activity and then too tired or bone-idle to get up and do. I berate myself a little every now and then, just a little, not enough to make me do anything:)

This weekend. however, I will not berate myself. I will spend time laughing, not cooking and cleaning. It will make a fine change from the norm. I will miss my family of course but I think two days without me may do them good as well. They can potter about and then have a little tidy before I get home without any nags from me, an added bonus for them.I wouldn’t want my life to be like this all the time but we all need a little me time, this will be mine.

I am happy to be getting my break, conscious that I am lucky to get it. This is a guilt-free trip but as I write this I hope that we can all think about helping someone else over this Easter weekend. Wouldn’t it be nice to help children who don’t get a break have some ‘me time’ too? Think of the children who live in poverty, those who have to care for siblings or parents or those who are very ill themselves. Wouldn’t it be nice to help those children have a safe and happy time if only for the briefest time? I sponsored someone today who will be running for a charity that does just that for children living in poverty. I would love you to do it too.

We do all need a break occasionally; wouldn’t it be grand if we could save our pennies to do this for ourselves then spare a few to do it for someone else. Just a thought…..

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, Giving, Life, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , .

Rambling, Ranting and a bit of Sport Relief. The Sense of an Ending – A Piece of Perfection…..

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ladymaryan  |  April 6, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    Dear Lesley,

    have a lovely break and tweetup, you surely deserve it!

    Claudia x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


