Timezones. Living from a Suitcase.

May 3, 2012 at 2:45 am Leave a comment

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

It is just after 8pm as I type this. The trouble is that in my home life it is just after 2am. I am six hours behind my life. I have been in this fugue state for eleven days but have one more day before I travel home. I am in the right place at the moment, for my work this is the right place. Tomorrow I check in, fly overnight and by lunchtime the following day I will be home.

Home. Such a small word but those four letters hold a wealth of meaning. I love my work but miss my home. I have been counting and now I am at one more sleep and a long journey. Sad perhaps? Yes but it works for me. I dared not count until a week had passed as the countdown would have been too long. I miss my own mug for coffee, I miss my own bed, I miss the hugs from my children. That is the worst thing about being away from home, the absence of touch in your daily life. I text, I call, I Skype. Video calls have made life so much easier but they will never be a substitute for a hug.

I am not sad, I am not maudlin in this post. I am almost home and can see it in my mind’s eye, therefore I am happy. However, I cannot help but think about those who do not have that sense of anticipation, that feeling in their fingertips as the thought of love and smiles reaches them. I have that and know how fortunate I am. Life is a fragile thing, something that has been reinforced for me this week. It makes me think we do not cherish what we have, I am determined to cherish, I will travel home with a happy heart.

I ask you this, do you understand what you have, do you cherish? Do you know someone who does not have this in their life and deserves this? Food and shelter are what gives us an existence, being cherished is what makes us thrive. I do want you to donate to a charity that will help children, that is after all the aim for my blog. Today I ask you to choose a charity that will make a child thrive……..

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, Giving, Life, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , .

Education – Facts and the CIA? That Internet is Amazing…. All Change? Not quite….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


