All Change? Not quite….

May 8, 2012 at 11:03 am Leave a comment

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

I am sitting in my kitchen and have my guilty secret, Homes Under the Hammer, playing in the background. Today I start a new phase of my working life. I will  be working from home and to US hours. This is something I have requested and planned for, it will give me daytime hours when I can assist some of my family. People have had mixed reactions to this plan. Some think I am bonkers, some are worried that I will have too much on my plate, some think it is a good thing. One statement has been oft-repeated – ‘I couldn’t do that, I wouldn’t have the discipline’.Discipline is not what worries me, I have sporadically worked from home in past roles and am able to focus on work. I don’t even worry very much about the solitary nature of this change; I will go into the office often enough to keep contact. Added to that I work for a US company so my contact with my American colleagues will not change.

I am a happy bunny as I sit mulling over the changes. I am grateful to my Company for allowing me to make this change, I now need to plan my days to make the most of them. This means Lesley makes a list and on that list I have so far:-

  • Seeing family members and providing support as best I can
  • Getting my sporadic exercise plan into an ordered shape
  • Blogging (naturally)
  • A tidier house – (my inner voice is saying ‘Dream on Les’)
  • Volunteering at a local school once a week on a reading programme; I have my training for this initiative later this week. I also have to go through all the normal approvals which will take a few weeks but I am happy that I now have a chance to do this.

The last item is something I have been considering for some time. I can see how my writing a blog now and then could come across as do as I say, not as I do. I don’t like the thought of being preachy, that I hope is not what you read here. I have always been interested in this particular programme and I think I now have the opportunity to do something about it. This makes me smile…

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, Giving, Learning, Life, wheniwas8, words. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Timezones. Living from a Suitcase. Causes? No, Effects.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


