I’m not picking on M&Ms, I still love them but……

May 13, 2012 at 11:34 am Leave a comment

I do this for a reason. I want you to donate to a children’s charity and write to me. Please see the About Lesley page or read the instructions at the end of this post…..

My family know my love of Peanut M&Ms, they buy them for me now and then knowing that will make me smile. Yesterday, I was handed a ‘Big Bag’, immediately ripped open the packet and snaffled them. Scrummy 🙂

I then looked at the box showing the number of calories. I never look before eating, that would start the guilt too early and I hate spoiling the M&M experience. It said, I quote, ‘Per portion (45 g) kcal 232 12%, the latter being the percentage of ‘normal’ daily intake. The picture below shows it quite well:-

This is all as normal, calories and percentages clearly stated on the packet. HOWEVER, the packet was not one ‘portion’ of 45 g, it was 70 g. The second picture below shows the reverse of the packet:-

Mmmmmmmmmm, no pun intended. I will be honest and say when it comes to a peanut M&M I can happily ignore the calories but will check how many calories I will consume in half a tin of beans. However, I read. I read everything, including the back of a packet of sweets. The packet of M&Ms was not lying to me, there are 232 calories in a 45 g portion and I ate a 70 g ‘big bag’. To work out the calories I actually consumed you divide 232 by 45 and multiply the result by 70 – approximately 360 calories. I am able to do sums as well as read….

I say again, there are no lies on the packet. However, there is what I would term a sleight of hand. If you just look at the front of the bag you could easily assume you are consuming 232 calories. We talk a lot about educating children about the food they eat, we encourage them to balance their proteins, carbohydrates and 5 portions a day with occasional treats. I hope children are also being educated to look closely at the small print on the bags of their daily treat when sweet manufacturers are displaying this kind of information. I would have been happier if the bag was 90 g, you could say it was two portions?

Added to this I googled M&Ms before I started this post. When you go on the official site you get the following message – ‘As a responsible manufacturer, we need to check your age to ensure that we adhere to our commitment to market our brands responsibly’. You are then invited to enter your MM DD YYYY date of birth. I nearly choked when I read this.

As it says on the title of this post I do not want to pick on M&Ms. I will continue to snaffle them frequently and not worry about the calories until much later. I could start on the supermarkets where you can buy one tin of Product A for 50 pence whilst above that (at eye level of course) there is a four-pack of Product A with a big sign saying ‘Great Value, Four for £2.20’. That also irks me.

I just want to remind everyone to read. Read the packets. Encourage your children to read the packet. Let them see what the real world of treats and sweeties is about. Let them enjoy a treat but let them see the calories consumed…….

I close, as always, with this:-

  • Please donate to a valid children’s charity of your choice.
  • Visit this blog and comment about your donation. Please also tell me what you wanted to be when you were 8. I still want to collect those tales and hope that some child will read about your words and deeds and want to do the same when they are older.

I will:-

  • Add your donation to the Totals page on this blog, totals are updated weekly.
  • I will also write some words about the current donations and the charity
  • Store all comments so that everyone can read them.

Thank you for reading.

Lesley

PS – I contacted the manufacturer and sent them a copy of this post too….

Entry filed under: Children, Donating, Education, Giving, Life, M&Ms, Sweets, wheniwas8. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Causes? No, Effects. M&Ms The Sequel. This Time it’s Personal!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


